The Rajya Sabha instituted the Dr. S. Radhakrishnan Chair and two Rajya Sabha Fellowships Scheme in the year 2009 with the objective of promoting research on different aspects of parliamentary democracy in India. At the initiative of the Hon’ble Chairman, Rajya Sabha, Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu, the existing Scheme has been revamped in order to enhance its effectiveness and utility. The revamped scheme has been renamed as ‘Rajya Sabha Research and Study’ (RSRS) Scheme which has three components, namely (a) Dr. S. Radhakrishnan Chair; (b) Rajya Sabha Fellowships and (c) Rajya Sabha Student Engagement Internships. The broad objective of the Scheme is ‘to promote research/empirical/comparative study of the functioning of Parliament and other democratic institutions and analyse their contributions to the country’s socio-economic transformation; and to ensure the utility of the research study to the functioning of Parliament’. Various aspects of the Scheme have been streamlined including eligibility criteria, selection of broad themes for study by the Chair and Fellows, monitoring of the research project, etc. The research grant for the Chair and Fellowships has been enhanced to attract the serious scholars/experts to undertake the study and ensure quality and relevant research. The number of Fellowships has also been increased from two to four. A new Internship Scheme has also been introduced with the objective to acquaint the students with the working of Parliament of India, especially the Rajya Sabha. A Research Advisory Committee (RAC) assists the Chairman, Rajya Sabha in the selection as well as operation of the Chair and the Fellowships. It has five members, two from amongst the members of Rajya Sabha, two prominent academics, nominated by the Chairman, Rajya Sabha and Secretary-General, Rajya Sabha is the Member Convenor. The Interns will be selected by the Rajya Sabha Secretariat as per the direction of Secretary-General, Rajya Sabha

Dr. S. Radhakrishnan Chair

The Chair is open to an eminent researcher/academic of repute/expert with proven record of research or scholarship and publications in the study of political system, democratic institutions and socio-economic challenges facing the nation. Former Members of Parliament/State Legislatures and former officers of Parliament/State Legislature Secretariats are also eligible to apply. Duration of the chair is for two years, extendable up to one year. The occupant of the Chair is entitled for a grant of Rs.20 lakh plus Rs.2.50 lakh as contingency grant.

Rajya Sabha Fellowships

The Fellowship is open to scholars who have relevant educational qualification/experience for undertaking the study in line with the objective of the Scheme. Former Members of Parliament/ State Legislatures and former officers of Parliament/State Legislature Secretariats are also eligible to apply. Duration of the Fellowship is 18 months which is extendable upto six months. The fellows are entitled to get a grant of Rs.8 lakhs plus Rs.50,000/- as contingency grant.

Rajya Sabha Internship Programme

Under Revision

Officers responsible for the supply of information

Shri Ratan Kumar Sahoo

Director (Research)


Room No. G075, PLB, Rajya Sabha Secretariat, New Delhi – 110 001.

Phone No.