Hon'ble Speaker

Hon'ble Speaker

Shri Om Birla

19 June 2019 - present

Email ID


Phone No.

(011) - 23017795, 23017914
(011) 23014011,(011) 23014022

Personal Details

Place of Birth

Kota, Rajasthan

Date of Birth


Father’s Name

Late Shri Shrikrishna Birla

Mother’s Name

Late Smt. Shakuntla Devi

Marital Status

Married, Dr. Amita Birla (11 Mar 1991)

Children Details

Daughter: 2 (Akanksha Birla , Anjali Birla)


Agriculturist, Social Worker

Educational Qualification

M.Com., Educated at Govt. Commerce College, Kota and Maharshi Dayanand Saraswati Vishwavidyalaya, Ajmer (Rajasthan)

Office Address

16, Parliament House, New Delhi-110 001 Tels : (011) 23017795, 23017914

Permanent Address

80-B, Dusshera Scheme, Shakti Nagar, Kota, Rajasthan - 324009 Telefax : (0744) 2505555, 2502525

Positions Held

Position held as Speaker

Chairperson: (i) Business Advisory Committee: (ii) Rules Committee; (iii) General Purposes Committee; (iv) Standing Committee of All India Presiding Officers’ Conference; and (v) Executive Committee of CPA India Region,
President: (i) Indian Parliamentary Group; and (ii) India Union Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA)

19 June 2019

Unanimously elected as Speaker, 17th Lok Sabha

May 2019

Re-elected to 17th Lok Sabha (2nd term)

22 Dec.2017-25 May 2019

Member, Joint Committee on the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2016

6 July 2015 - 30 April 2016

Member, Sub Committee-III, Committee on Estimates

1 Sep. 2014 - 25 May 2019

Member, Committee on Petitions,
Member, Standing Committee on Energy,
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment

14 Aug. 2014 - 30 April 2016

Member, Committee on Estimates

May 2014

Elected to 16th Lok Sabha


Member, Committee on Public Sector Undertakings and General Purposes Committee, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly


Parliamentary Secretary (MoS), Government of Rajasthan


Member, Estimate Committee 'A', Rajasthan Legislative Assembly

2003, 2008, 2013

Member, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly (Three Terms)


National Vice-President, the Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha


State President, the Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha, Rajasthan State


District President, Kota (Rajasthan), the Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha