Constituent Assembly

First Day in the Constituent Assembly

The Constituent Assembly met for the first time in New Delhi on 9 December 1946 in the Constitution Hall which is now known as the Central Hall of Parliament House. Decorated elegantly for the occasion, the Chamber wore a new look on that day with a constellation of bright lamps hanging from the high ceilings and also from the brackets on its walls. Overwhelmed and jubilant as they were, the hon'ble members sat in semi-circular rows facing the Presidential dias. The desks which could be warmed electrically were placed on sloping green-carpeted terraces. Those who adorned the front row were Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, Maulana Abul Kalam Azad, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, Acharya J.B. Kripalani

Read More

Some Facts about Constituent Assembly

The Constituent Assembly took almost three years (two years, eleven months, and seventeen days to be precise) to complete its historic task of drafting the Constitution for Independent India. During this period, it held eleven sessions covering a total of 165 days. Of these, 114 days were spent on the consideration of the Draft Constitution. As to its composition, members were chosen by indirect election by the members of the Provincial Legislative Assemblies, according to the scheme recommended by the Cabinet Mission. The arrangement was: (i) 292 members were elected through the Provincial Legislative Assemblies; (ii) 93 members represented the Indian Princely States; and (iii) 4 members represented

Read More

Important Committees of Constituent Assembly and Their Chairmen

S. NoName of CommitteeChairman
1Committee on the Rules of ProcedureRajendra Prasad
2Steering CommitteeRajendra Prasad
3Finance and Staff CommitteeRajendra Prasad
4Credential CommitteeAlladi Krishnaswami Ayyar
5House CommitteeB. Pattabhi Sitaramayya
6Order of Business CommitteeK.M. Munsi
7Ad hoc Committee on the National FlagRajendra Prasad
8Committee on the Functions of the Constituent AssemblyG.V. Mavalankar

Statewise Membership of the Constituent Assembly of India as on 31st December, 1947

S. NoStateNo. of Members
3West Bengal19
4United Provinces55
5East Punjab12
7C.P. and Berar17
Read More

Indian States-0
S. NoStateNo. of Members
Read More

President’s Address on the 50th anniversary of First Sitting of Constituent Assembly

Parliament House, New Delhi Monday, December 9, 1996 18 Agrahyana, 1918 (Saka) It gives me immense pleasure to participate in this function to commemorate the fiftieth anniversary of the first sitting of the Constituent Assembly of India. On behalf of the nation I pay tribute to all Members of the Constituent Assembly. Their painstaking efforts provided India with the basic legal and ethical framework for progress and development. It is also my privilege to felicitate some members of the Constituent Assembly who are with us today. The 9th of December, like the 9th of August, is important in the history of our long struggle for Freedom. Indeed, the demand for a Constituent Assembly was intrinsically

Read More

Brief history and List of Illustrations of original Calligraphic "Constitution of India”

List of Illustrations- Constitution of India