Government of India Ministry of Coal LokSabha

Unstarred Question No. 871 To be answered on 21.07.2016 Allocation of Captive Coal Blocks

871. SHRI MAHEISH GIRRI:

Will the Minister of COAL be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of captive coal blocks allocated along with the total capacity of these blocks during the last three years and the current year;
- (b) the number of coal blocks de-allocated so far;
- (c) the key reasons behind their de-allocation;
- (d) whether the Government has taken any steps for the early environmental clearance of these blocks; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (I/C) FOR COAL, POWER, NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND MINES (SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

(a): A total of 218 coal blocks were allocated during the period 1993 to 2011, out of which 204 coal blocks were cancelled by the Hon'ble Supreme Court vide its Order dated 24.09.2014. After cancellation, allocation of these 204 coal mines/blocks is being under taken in accordance with the provisions of the Coal Mines (Special Provisions) Act, 2015 {CMSP Act}. In addition, coal blocks are also allocated under the provisions of Mines and Minerals (Development & Regulation) Act, 1957. Allocation of captive coal blocks made during the last three years under these two legal regimes is given in the Table below:

Coal mines	allocated under Coal	Coal blocks a	allocated under Mines
Mines (Special Provisions) Act, 2015		and Minerals (Development &	
		Regulation) Act, 1957	
Number of	Balance Extractable	Number of	Estimated Geological
coal mines	Reserves*/Estimated	coal blocks	Reserves (in Million
	Geological Reserves (in		Tonnes)
	Million Tonnes)		
74	9886	10	5234

^{*} In case of producing Schedule II coal mines

Further, during the current financial year, 2016-17, one coal mine with Geological Reserves of 189.83 Million Tonnes has been allocated for captive use.

(b) & (c): Out of the remaining 14 coal blocks which were not cancelled by the Hon'ble Supreme Court, Ministry of Coal has de-allocated 4 coal blocks allocated for Ultra Mega Power Projects (UMPPs) during the year 2015-16. Out of these 4 coal blocks, one coal block, namely, Chhatrasal was de-allocated as the reserves of this coal block were in excess of the coal requirement of Sasan UMPP. Further, three coal blocks namely, Meenakshi, Meenakshi B and Dipside of Meenakshi allocated for Odisha UMPP were de-allocated since Ministry of Power had requested for transfer of allocation of these coal blocks to allocattee's another subsidiary not having the end use plant, which was not found to be in conformity with the provisions of the Coal Mines (Nationalisation) Act, 1973 under which the said blocks were allocated.

(d) & (e): A large number of coal mines allocated under the CMSP Act, 2015 had already received environment clearance which was required to be transferred in the name of new allocattee. Ministry of Coal has taken up the matter of expeditious transfer/grant of environment clearance to allocated coal blocks with Ministry of Environment, Forest & Climate Change and the State Government concerned from time to time.
