GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF SCHOOL EDUCATION & LITERACY

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 85 TO BE ANSWERED ON 18.07.2016

DETAILS OF KENDRIYA VIDYALAYAS

†85. SHRI SUNIL KUMAR SINGH:

Will the Minister of HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is aware of the fact that Kendriya Vidyalaya does not exist in every district of the country and if so, the details thereof, State/UT-wise;
- (b) whether the Government proposes to set up at least one Kendriya Vidyalaya in each district of the country and if so, the time by which these are likely to be started and if not, the reasons therefor; and
- (c) the details of the districts where Kendriya Vidyalayas have been sought to be set up by the Members of Parliament?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (SHRI PRAKASH JAVADEKAR)

- (a) Yes, Madam. At present 160 districts in the country do not have any Kendriya Vidyalaya (KV). The State / UT-wise details of such districts are given in **Annexure-I.**
- (b) Proposals for opening of new Kendriya Vidyalayas (KVs) are considered only if sponsored by Ministries or Departments of the Government of India or State Governments / Union Territories Administrations or Organization of employees belonging to the eligible categories thereby committing resources including land for setting up a new KV, and are subject to availability of resources with the Central Government.
- (c) The State / UT-wise details of the districts where Kendriya Vidyalayas have been sought to be set up by Members of Parliament are given in **Annexure-II**.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 85 RAISED BY SHRI SUNIL KUMAR SINGH HON'BLE MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT TO BE ANSWERED ON $18^{\rm TH}$ JULY 2016 REGARDING DETAILS OF KENDRIYA VIDYALAYAS

State / UT-wise details of the districts which do not have any Kendriya Vidyalaya (as on 12.7.2016)

S. No.	Name of State / UT	No. of Distts. not having KVs	Names of the Districts
1	A & N Islands (UT)	2	Nicobar & North & Middle Andaman
2	Arunachal Pradesh	6	East Kameng, Kurung Kumey, Upper Dibong Valley, Upper Subansiri, Anjaw & Longding.
3	Assam	2	Nalbari & Chirang
4	Bihar	7	Arwal, Kaimur, Sheikhpura, Nawada, adhepura, Madhubani & Supaul.
5	Chhattisgarh	11	Kabirdham (Kawardha), Bijapur, Sukuma, Kondagaon, Balod, Bemetara, Baloda Bazar, Gariaband, Mungeli, Surajpur & Balrampur.
6	Daman & Diu (UT)	1	Daman
7	Delhi (UT)	3	North East Delhi, South East Delhi & North Delhi
8	Gujarat	8	Amreli, Kheda, Narmada, Navsari, Patan, Valsad, Dangs & Tapi.
9	Haryana	6	Fatehabad *, Jind*, Kaithal, Mewat, Yamuna Nagar & Panipat.
10	Himachal Pradesh	1	Sirmaur
11	Jammu & Kashmir	6	Poonch, Ramban, Ganderbal, Shopian Kupwara & Pulwama.
12	Jharkhand	8	Chatra, Dumka, Giridih, Koderma, Lohardaga, Saraikela Kharsawan, Palamu & Khunti.
13	Karnataka	7	Bangalore Rural, Chitradurga, Gadag, Ramanagara, Chikkaballapur, Yadgir & Chickmaglur.
14	Madhya Pradesh	1	Alirajpur
15	Maharashtra	17	Akola, Amravati, Beed, Buldhana, Gadchiroli, Gondiya, Hingoli, Jalna, Kolhapur, Nandurbar, Usmanabad, Parbhani, Ratnagiri, Sangli, Satara, Sindhudurga & Washim
16	Manipur	5	Bishnupur, Chandel, Imphal (East), Thoubal & Senapati
17	Mizoram	5	Lawngtlai, Kolasib, Mamit, Saiha & Serchhip.
18	Meghalaya	8	South Garo Hills, East Garo Hills, North Garo Hills, South-West Garo Hills, West Jaintia Hills, East Jaintia Hills, West Khasi Hills & South-West Khasi Hills
19	Nagaland	8	Kiphire, Mon, Phek, Tuensang, Wokha, Zunheboto, Peren & Longleng.
20	Puducherry(UT)	1	Yanam
21	Punjab	5	Mansa, Moga, Muktsar, Nawanshahr & Roopnagar *.
22	Rajasthan	4	Dholpur, Nagaur, Pali & Pratapgarh.
23	Sikkim	3	North Sikkim, West Sikkim & South Sikkim
24	Tamil Nadu	11	Erode, Karur, Krishnagiri, Nagapattinam, Namakkal, Pudhukottai, Salem, Theni, Viluppuram, Ariyalur & Thiruppur.
25	Tripura	3	Gomoti, Sipahijala & Khowai.
26	Uttar Pradesh West Bengal	20	Ambedkar Nagar, Bhadohi, Bijnor, Kanshiram Nagar (Kashganj), Fatehpur, Hamirpur, J.P. Nagar (Amroha), Jalaun, Jaunpur, Kannauj, Mainpuri, Mirzapur, Bahraich, Pratapgarh, Sant Kabir Nagar, Maharajganj, Banda, Sant Ravidas Nagar, Sambhal & Shamli. Bankura
21	vvesi beligal	l l	Dalikula

^{*} A Kendriya Vidyalaya had been sanctioned on 04.03.2014 but it could not be opened / made functional since land transfer and other formalities have yet not been completed.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (c) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 85 RAISED BY SHRI SUNIL KUMAR SINGH HON'BLE MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT TO BE ANSWERED ON $18^{\rm TH}$ JULY 2016 REGARDING DETAILS OF KENDRIYA VIDYALAYAS

State / UT-wise details of districts where new KVs have been sought to be set up by Hon'ble Members of Parliament

SL. No.	State	No. of Distts.	Names of Districts
1.	Andhra Pradesh	7	Prakasam, East Godavari, Guntur, Chittoor, Ananthapur, Vishakhapatnam & Nellore.
2.	Bihar	15	Shivhar, Madhubani, Supaul, Jamui, Motihari, Mujjafarpur, Kasimur, Banka, Siwan, Bhagalpur, Ujiarpur, Kasimur, Khagaria, Madhepura & Munger.
3.	Chattisgarh	10	Naya Raipur, Surajpur, Balrampur, Baloda Bazar, Saraipalli, Gariaband, Kabirdham, Dhamtari, Bemetara & Janjgir Champa.
4.	Delhi (UT)	5	West Delhi, East Delhi, South Delhi, North Delhi & South West Delhi.
5.	Gujarat	15	Amreli, Patan, Narmada, Kheda, Tapi, Valsad, Dang, Rajkot, Mehsana, Sabarkantha, Morbi, Aravali, Bhavnagar, Surendranagar & Kutchh.
6.	Haryana	1	Bhiwani.
7.	Himachal Pradesh	1	Mandi.
8.	Jammu & Kashmir	3	Reasi, Poonch & Jammu.
9.	Jharkhand	2	Chatra & Giridih.
10.	Karnataka	9	Yadgir, Belgaum, Tumkur, Bidar, Ramanagara, Koppal, Gulbarga, Bangalore & Chitradurga.
11.	Kerala	5	Kasargod, Chengannur, Kollam, Alapujhan & Lakshdweep.
12.	Madhya Pradesh	18	Damoh, Seoni, Rajgarh, Alirajpur, Chhattarpur, Sehore, Baitul, Mandsore, Ratlaam, Dhar, Agarmalwa, Ashok Nagar, Mandla, Jabalpur, Sagar, Ujjain, Narsinghpur & Balaghat.
13.	Maharashtra	9	Ahmednagar, Nagpur, Yavatmal-Washim, Aurangabad, Jalgaon, Parbhani, Kolhapur, Mumbai North West & Palghar.
14.	Odisha	9	Jagatsinghpur, Keonjhar, Sambalpur, Nabarangpur, Malkangiri, Ganjam, Mayurbhanj, Angul & Rayagada.
15.	Punjab	1	Roop Nagar
16.	Rajasthan	9	Pratapgarh, Sirohi, Nagaur, Dausa, Barmer, Pali, Jhunjhunu, Jaipur City & Kota.
17.	Tamilnadu	18	Vellore, Tirunelveli, Erode, Pudukkottai, Thoothukudi, Kancheepuram, Chidambaram, Coimbatore, Theni, Trichy, Salem, Namakkal, Nagapattinam, Virudhunagar, Villupuram, Chennai, Thanjavur & Sivaganga.
18.	Telangana	9	Medak, Mahabubnagar, Nagarkurnool, Warangal, Bhdrachalam, Vizianagaram, Nalgonda, Khammam & Nizamabad.
19.	Uttarakhand	5	Udham Singh Nagar, Bageshwar, Uttarkashi, Tehri Garwahal & Dehradun.
20.	Uttar Pradesh	24	Lakhimpuri Kheri, Ambedkar Nagar, Unnao, Hamirpur, Fatehpur, Sambhal, Lucknow, Kannauj, Farrukhabad, Bijnor, Shrawasti, Fatehpur Sikri, Bhadohi, Kasganj, Azamgarh, Allahabad, Pratapgarh, Jaunpur, Phoolpur (Allahabad), Kaushambi, Banda, Mau, Baliya & Maharajganj.
