GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF LAW AND JUSTICE LEGISLATIVE DEPARTMENT

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 783

TO BE ANSWERED ON THURSDAY, 21st JULY, 2016

ABOLITION OF LEGISLATIVE COUNCILS

783. SHRI GUTHA SUKENDER REDDY:

Will the Minister of LAW AND JUSTICE be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of States having the Legislative Councils in the country;
- (b) whether the Government proposes to abolish the said system of Legislative Councils;
- (c) if so, the details and the objectives thereof; and
- (d) whether any committee has recommended for the same and if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF LAW AND JUSTICE AND ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI RAVI SHANKAR PRASAD)

- (a): At present, there are seven (7) States having Legislative Councils, viz.;
 - (1) Andhra Pradesh, (2) Bihar, (3) Jammu and Kashmir, (4) Karnataka, (5) Maharahstra, (6) Telangana, and (7) Uttar Pradesh.
- (b) to (d): There is no proposal to abolish the system of Legislative Councils. However, the procedure in this regard is that the State Legislative Assembly of the State has to pass a resolution to that effect by a majority of the total membership of the Assembly and by a majority of not less than two-thirds of the members of the Assembly present and voting. Thereafter, appropriate action may be taken by the Central Government under Article 169 of the Constitution.