GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.592 TO BE ANSWERED ON 20.07.2016

DEVELOPMENT OF RAILWAY STATIONS

592. SHRI RAJESH KUMAR DIWAKER:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Railways proposes to develop twenty or more railway stations in partnership with the Ministry of Tourism;
- (b) if so, the details and the status of the proposal;
- (c) whether these stations have since been identified and if so, the details thereof; and
- (d) whether the Railways is planning to develop any stations in the State of Uttar Pradesh and if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) OF THE MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

(SHRI MANOJ SINHA)

(a) to (d): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (d) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.592 BY SHRI RAJESH KUMAR DIWAKER TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 20.07.2016 REGARDING DEVELOPMENT OF RAILWAY STATIONS

(a) to (d): In Railway Budget 2011-12, 24 railway stations of tourist importance were identified for upgradation of passenger amenities in association with Ministry of Tourism (MOT) on a cost sharing basis of 50:50 subject to a ceiling of `240 Cr. from MOT and MOR together. The stations are Hyderabad, Hospet, Agra, Rae Bareli, Varanasi, Kamakhya, Haridwar, Gaya, Madurai, Tarapith, Thiruvananthapuram, Amritsar, Delhi Safdurjung, Kurukshetra, Aurangabad, Nanded, Puri, Tarakeshwar, Rameshwaram, Tirupati, Guwahati, Jaipur, Ajmer and New Jalpaiguri. Agra Cantt., Rae Bareli and Varanasi are in the State of Uttar Pradesh.

Out of the 24 stations, 15 stations (i.e. Amritsar, Agra Cantt., Gaya, Rae-Bareli and Thiruvananthapuram (first phase), Jaipur, Ajmer, Puri, Delhi Safdarjung, Kurukshetra, Varanasi, Hyderabad, Tirupati, Hospet and Haridwar) have been jointly inspected. Out of these 15 stations, estimates for 13 stations (i.e. Amritsar, Agra Cantt., Gaya, Rae-Bareli and Thiruvananthapuram, Jaipur, Ajmer, Delhi Safdarjung, Kurukshetra, Varanasi, Hyderabad, Tirupati and Puri) have been sent to MOT for release of funds.

MOT has released part funds for 5 stations (i.e. Amritsar, Agra Cantt., Gaya, Rae-Bareli, Thiruvananthapuram) amounting to `12.50 Cr on 11.02.2014, for 2 stations (i.e. Ajmer and Jaipur) amounting to `5.2 Cr. on 10.10.2014 and for Puri station amounting to `3.07 Cr. on 2.5.2016. The work at Puri station was completed by IR with its own resources and work has been taken up at the other stations also where funds have been released by MOT.

The works at Agra Cantt. and Varanasi stations are in progress.

* * * * *