GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF LAW & JUSTICE DEPARTMENT OF LEGAL AFFAIRS *****

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4215 TO BE ANSWERED ON 11.08.2016

Admission to National Law Universities

4215. SHRI MAHEISH GIRRI:

Will the Minister of LAW AND JUSTICE be pleased to state:

- (a) the criteria and procedure adopted for admissions in various National Law Universities in the country;
- (b) whether any unified admission test like Common Law Admission Test (CLAT) has been introduced for the purpose;
- (c) if so, the details thereof;
- (d) the details of the Universities participating in CLAT in the country; and
- (e) whether the National Law University, Delhi has been included in CLAT and if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR LAW AND JUSTICE AND ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

(SHRI P.P. CHAUDHARY)

(a), (b) and (c) : The Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Punjab has informed that Admission to National Universities of Law is done through entrance test. Common Law Admission Test (CLAT) as per Memorandum of Understanding between the member National Universities of Law is held at all India Level. The CLAT is conducted to provide lists of candidates on the basis of 'merit-cum-preference' of the candidates to each University for admission to their UG/PG Programmes, as per the eligibility, reservation and other criteria laid down under the respective statutes of the participating Universities. The CLAT is conducted each year by a member National Law University on rotational basis. The first CLAT was held in 2008 by the National Law School of India University, Bangalore.

(d) : The Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Punjab has informed that presently there are following 17 member National Law Universities who are part of CLAT:-

- 1. National Law School of India University, Bangalore (NLSIU).
- 2. National Academy of Legal Study and Research University of Law, Hyderabad (NALSAR).
- 3. The National Law Institute University, Bhopal (NLIU).
- 4. The West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata (WBNUJS).
- 5. National Law University, Jodhpur (NLUJ).
- 6. Hidayatullah National Law University, Raipur (HNLU).
- 7. Gujarat National Law University, Gandhinagar (GNLU).
- 8. Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University, Lucknow (RMLNLU).
- 9. Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Punjab (RGNUL).
- 10. Chanakya National Law University, Patna (CNLU).
- 11. The National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi (NUALS).
- 12. National Law University Odisha, Cuttack (NLUO).
- 13. National University of study and Research in Law, Ranchi (NUSRL).
- 14. National Law University and Judicial Academy, Assam (NLUJAA).
- 15. Damodaram Sanjivayya National Law University, Visakhapatnam (DSNLU).
- 16. Tamil Nadu National Law School, Tiruchirappalli (TNNLS).
- 17. Maharashtra National Law University, Mumbai (MNLU).

(e): The National Law University, Delhi has informed that the CLAT is outcome of Public Interest Litigation (PIL) filed in the Supreme Court of India in 2006. Seven National Law Universities (NLUs) were made parties in the PIL. Hon'ble Supreme Court gave directions to hold CLAT for these seven Universities when all these Universities agreed to do so. The National Law University, Delhi was established in 2008 and it was not a party in the PIL. The Universities autonomous bodies have the autonomy to take decisions in the matters of admissions. The other Law Universities have opted at their own to join CLAT except national Law University, Delhi. This matter has been deliberated in the University bodies including Governing council Chaired by the Hon'ble Chief Justice of India or his nominee as Visitor and it has been decided to continue with separate Entrance Test i.e. All India Law Entrance Test (AILET) for admission to its academic programmes.
