GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.4017 TO BE ANSWERED ON 10.08.2016

REDEVELOPMENT OF RAILWAY STATION

4017. SHRI ADHALRAO PATIL SHIVAJIRAO: SHRI SHRIRANG APPA BARNE: SHRI DHARMENDRA YADAV: SHRI VINAYAK BHAURAO RAUT: SHRI ANANDRAO ADSUL: DR. SHRIKANT EKNATH SHINDE:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

(a) whether the World Bank has given in-principle approval for 500 million dollar loan for station redevelopment and if so, the facts thereof;

(b) whether the Railways has joined hands with the Indian Army to develop railway stations that witness heavy movement of defence forces and if so, the details of the stations identified for the purpose;

(c) whether the engineering wing of Indian Army has conducted a survey of such strategic stations and if so, the details thereof;

(d) whether besides partnering with the army, the Railways has worked out four other funding patterns to redevelop the railway stations; and

(e) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

(SHRI RAJEN GOHAIN)

(a) to (e): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

* * * * * *

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (e) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4017 BY SHRI ADHALRAO PATIL SHIVAJIRAO, SHRI SHRIRANG APPA BARNE, SHRI DHARMENDRA YADAV, SHRI VINAYAK BHAURAO RAUT, SHRI ANANDRAO ADSUL AND DR. SHRIKANT EKNATH SHINDE TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 10.08.2016 REGARDING REDEVELOPMENT OF RAILWAY STATION

(a): No, Madam.

(b): Discussions have been held by the Ministry of Railways with the Ministry of Defence regarding redevelopment of railway stations serving major army settlements, with the cooperation from Ministry of Defence. Ministry of Defence have also been requested to indicate the stations to be taken up for redevelopment out of 66 such stations, State-wise list of which is furnished below:-

State	Station
Andhra	Visakhapatnam
Pradesh	
Assam	Guwahati, Rangiya, Dibrugarh Town, Silchar
Bihar	Danapur Cantt., Gaya, Dhanbad, Muzaffarpur
Chandigarh UT	Chandigarh
Delhi	Delhi Cantt.
Goa	Vasco-da-gama
Gujarat	Sabarmati, Gandhidham, Jamnagar, Vadodara, Bhuj, Porbandar
Haryana	Ambala Cantt.
Jammu &	Jammu Tawi, Udhampur
Kashmir	
Jharkhand	Dhanband, Jagannathpur, Ramgharh Town
Karnataka	Bengaluru Cantt., Yeshwantpur, Baiyyapannahalli
Kerala	Cochin
Madhya	Jabalpur, Piparia, Bhopal, Mhow, Neemuch
Pradesh	
Maharashtra	Pune, Kolhapur, Satara, Ahamednagar, Daund, Nagpur,
	Amla, Deolali, Nasik Road, Bhusawal.
Odisha	Bhubaneswar
Punjab	Amritsar, Bathinda Cantt., Pathankot Cantt., Jalandhar Cantt.
Rajasthan	Kota, Bharatpur
Tamil Nadu	Chennai, Coimbatore, Wellington/Coonoor,
	Arakkonam, Rameswaram, Trichy.
Uttar Pradesh	Agra, Allahabad, Bareilly Cantt., Jhansi, Meerut
	Cantt., Mughalsarai, Varanasi Cantt.
West Bengal	Adra, New Jalpaiguri, Silliguri

(c): No, Madam.

(d) & (e): Indian Railway has also advertised its plan to redevelop 'A-1' and 'A' category stations on 'as is where is' basis, by inviting proposals from developers with their designs and business ideas. The entire cost of station redevelopment is to be met by leveraging commercial development of land and air space in and around the stations.
