## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3970 TO BE ANSWERED ON 10.08.2016

#### PAPERLESS RAILWAY TICKETS

#### **3970. SHRI RAJAN VICHARE:**

#### Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government has any plan to introduce paperless railway tickets and platform tickets in all the stations of Maharashtra;

(b) if so, the names of stations in Maharashtra where the said facility has been provided; and

(c) if not, the reasons therefor and the time by which the above facility is likely to be provided at all the railway stations in Maharashtra?

#### ANSWER

### MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

#### (SHRI RAJEN GOHAIN)

(a) to (c): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

\*\*\*\*

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (c) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3970 BY SHRI RAJAN VICHARE TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 10.08.2016 REGARDING PAPERLESS RAILWAY TICKETS

(a) to (c): With a view to facilitate convenient booking of unreserved tickets by passengers without having to stand in long queues to purchase Railway tickets, Indian Railways introduced the facility of paperless unreserved ticket, season ticket and platform ticket booking through mobile phone in suburban sections of Central Railway and Western Railway as a pilot project. At present, the facility of booking unreserved and season tickets through mobile phone is available at 108 stations of Mumbai suburban sections of Central Railway and Western Railway. The facility of booking paperless platform tickets through mobile phone has also been provided at 12 stations of Mumbai suburban section of Central and Western Railways. Names of these stations are given in the Appendix. Apart from Central Railway and Western Railway, the project has also been introduced in some stations in Eastern, Southern, South Eastern, South Central and Northern Railways. The pilot project of booking of mobile phone based paperless tickets is being run on stations in bigger cities with high demand and the project is subject to continuous review and refinements in the system and expansion with a view to progressively cover more stations across all Indian Railways. Further, reserved e-tickets booked through Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation (IRCTC) website including through mobile application based ticket, also has provision of paperless ticket as Short Message Service (SMS) sent by IRCTC.

\* \* \* \* \*

APPENDIX REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (c) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3970 BY SHRI RAJAN VICHARE TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 10.08.2016 REGARDING PAPERLESS RAILWAY TICKETS

Railway	Names of stations where Paperless Journey tickets
	are issued through mobile phone
Central (73 Stations)	Ambarnath, Ambivli, Airavali, Asangaon, Atgaon, Belarpur C.B.D., Bhivandi Road, Bhandup, Badlapur, Bhivpuri Road, Byculla, Chunabhatti, Chinchpokli, Kurla Jn., Chembur, Currey Road, Chatrapati Shivaji Terminus, Cotton Green, Dombivli, Diva Jn., Dockyard Road, Dadar Central, Ghat Kopar, Ghansoli, Guru Teghbahadurnaga, Govandi, Juinagar, King's Circle, Khadavli, Khardi, Kharghar, Khopoli, Kanjur Marg, Karjat, Kalva, Khandeshwar, Kopar, Kopar Khairna, Kasara, Kalyan Jn., Mansarovar, Mumbra, Mulund, Mankhurd, Masjid, Matunga, Nerul, Nahur, Neral, Panvel, Parel, Rabale, Reay Road, Shahad, Shelu, Sion, Sanpada, Sandhurst Road, Sewri, Sea Wood Darave, Thakurli, Tilak Nagar, Titavala, Thane, Turbhe, Ulhasnagar, Vadala Road, Vangani, Vikroli, Vithalwadi,
Western	Vasind, Vashi and Vidyavihar.
Western (35 Stations)	Andheri, Bandra Jn., Mumbai Central, Boisar, Vasai Road, Borivali, Bhayandar, Church Gate, Charni Road, Dadar Western, Dahisar, Dahanu Road, Elphinstone Road, Goregaon, Grant Road, Jogeshwari, Khar Road, Kandivli, Kelve Road, Malad, Marine Lines, Mira Road, Mahim Jn., Matunga Road, Mahalakshmi, Naigaon, Nalla-Sopara, Lower Parel, Palghar, Saphale, Santacruz, Vangaon, Ville Parle, Virar and Vaitarna.

Railway	Names of stations where Paperless Platform Tickets
	are issued through mobile phone
Central	Thane, Panvel, Dadar Central, Lokmanya Tilak
(6 Stations)	Terminus, Chatrapati Shivaji Terminus and Kalyan.
Western	Andheri, Borivali, Vasai Road, Dadar Western, Mumbai
(6 Stations)	Central and Bandra Terminus.

\*\*\*\*