GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3063 TO BE ANSWERED ON 04.08.2016

SPMRM

3063. SHRI AJAY MISRA TENI:

Will the Minister of **RURAL DEVELOPMENT** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether in the first phase of Shyama Prasad Mukherji Rurban Mission (SPMRM) out of 100 clusters, 10 clusters of Uttar Pradesh have been selected;
- (b) if so, the basis for selecting the said clusters along with the amount of funds allocated to the State Government for development of the same;
- (c) whether the Government proposes to select at least 50 more clusters in the next phase considering the size and population of the State and, if so, the details thereof;
- (d) whether the suggestions of the Members of Parliament besides the State Governments are likely to be sought in the selection of the clusters; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT (SHRI RAM KRIPAL YADAV)

(a) & (b): Yes Sir. The cluster selection process for the first phase of SPMRM has been completed and 10 Non-tribal clusters have been allocated to Uttar Pradesh, out of the total 100 Rurban clusters in the country. As per the program guideline of SPMRM, the Ministry has identified a set of potential locations (sub-districts) for Rurban clusters and the then respective State have been asked to select a set of contiguous villages within the sub-districts to form a Rurban cluster, based on the following parameters;

There are two categories of clusters under SPMRM: Non-Tribal and Tribal. However in the first phase Uttar Pradesh has 10 Non-tribal Clusters. The process of selection will vary for each of these categories.

Non-Tribal Clusters: For selection of Non-Tribal clusters, the Ministry has provided a list of leading sub districts to each State, within which the clusters has been identified. The selection of these sub-districts by the Ministry is based on parameters such as;

- (i) Decadal Growth in Rural Population
- (ii) Decadal Growth in Non-Farm work participation
- (iii) Presence of Economic Clusters
- (iv) Presence of places of Tourism and Religious significance and
- (v) Proximity to Transport Corridors.

Appropriate weightages have been given for each parameter. Thereafter, within these sub districts, so identified by the Ministry, the State Governments have identified the Rurban clusters and while doing so, the following performance parameters has been considered:

- i. Decadal growth in Rural Population.
- ii. Rise in Land Values.
- iii. Decadal growth in Non- Farm Work force participation.
- iv. Percentage Enrollment of girls in secondary schools.

- v. Percentage Households with Bank accounts under Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana.
- vi. Performance in Swacch Bharat Mission (Grameen).
- vii. Good Governance Initiatives by Gram Panchayats.

A total weightage of 80% has been given for the first four parameters and State have the flexibility to choose the last three parameters subject to a total weightage of 20%.

(c) to (e): No Sir. As per the cluster allocation methodology across the States in the country, UP has been allocated 6 clusters in the next phase as per a well laid out cluster allocation methodology. The State Governments are requested to ensure the participation of local elected representatives comprising Members of Parliament (MPs) and Members of Legislative Assemblies (MLAs) in Rurban projects.
