GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2983 TO BE ANSWERED ON 03.08.2016

CAPITAL INVESTMENT IN RAILWAYS

T2983. SHRI KRUPAL BALAJI TUMANE: SHRI ARVIND SAWANT:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether there is an urgent need to make large scale capital investment in Railway and if so, the details thereof;
- (b) whether the Railways is unable to make such large scale investment and if so, the reasons therefor; and
- (c) the details of the railway projects stalled due to delay in land acquisition, zone and State-wise?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

(SHRI RAJEN GOHAIN)

(a) to (c): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (c) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2983 BY SHRI KRUPAL BALAJI TUMANE AND SHRI ARVIND SAWANT TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 03.08.2016 REGARDING CAPITAL INVESTMENT IN RAILWAYS

(a) & (b) : Ministry of Railways have drawn up an investment plan of ₹ 8.56 lakh crore over the five years(2015-2019) as indicated in the Rail Budget 2015-2016. Apart from budgetary resources and internal generation funds through institutional financing, Public Private Partnership and Debt etc. forms part of the Investment Plan. Capital investment in Railways has been scaled up - ₹ 93,795 crore in 2015-16 and outlay of ₹ 1,21,000 crore in 2016-2017.

(c): List of projects where delay has taken place in land acquisition is as under:-

S.	Railway	State	Year of	Name of project	Length
No.			sanction		(in Km)
1	Northern	Himachal,	1981-82	Nangal Dam-Talwara &	83.74
		Punjab		Mukerian-Talwara	
2	East Coast	Odisha	1996-97	Angul-Sukinda Road	98.7
3	East Coast	Odisha	1996-97	Haridaspur-Paradeep	82
4	South	Karnataka	1996-97	Hassan-Bangalore via	166
	Western			Shravanabelgola	
5	Southern	Kerala	1997-98	Angmali-Sabarimala	116
6	Eastern	Bihar,	2000-01	Deogarh-Sultanganj	147
		Jharkhand		including Banka-Barahat	
				and Banka-Bhitiah Road	
7	East Central	Bihar	2003-04	Hajipur-Sagauli via Vaishali	148.3
8	North	Uttrakhand	2003-04	Kichha-Khatima	57.7
	Eastern				
9	East Central	Bihar	2005-06	Darbhanga-	70.14
				Kusheshwarasthan	
10	North	Bihar, Uttar	2005-06	Hathua-Bhatni	79.64
	Eastern	Pradesh			
11	North	Bihar, Uttar	2006-07	Chhitauni-Tumkuhi Road	62.5
	Eastern	Pradesh			
12	Northeast	Nagaland	2006-07	Dimapur-Kohima	88
	Frontier			-	

13	Southern	Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh	2006-07	Tindivanam-Nagari	179.2
14	Northern	Uttar Pradesh, Uttrakhand	2007-08	Deoband (Muzzafar Nagar)- Roorkee	27.45
15	South East Central	Chhattisgarh	2006-07	Khodri-Annupur with flyover at Bilaspur	61.6
