GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2969

TO BE ANSWERED ON: 03.08.2016

EXPANSION OF IT

2969 SHRI C. MAHENDRAN

Will the Minister of Electronics and Information Technology be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has any plan to expand the information technology network in the country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof, State-wise;
- (c) the funds allocated for the purpose, State-wise;
- (d) whether the sanctioned projects are witnessing delay in completion;
- (e) if so, the details thereof and the reasons therefore; and
- (f) action taken by the Government in this regard?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR MINISTRY OF ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI P.P. CHAUDHARY)

(a) and (b): The State Wide Area Network (SWAN) under National e-Governance Plan(NeGP) of Government of India have been setup and functional in all the States/UTs of the country except J&K and Andaman & Nicobar.

The network infrastructure setup in the States is capable of expansion to cater to the higher bandwidth requirements of the States based on their functional necessity.

- (c): The funds allocated for SWAN in the State are at Annexure.
- (d), (e) and (f): All State SWANs are sanctioned and SWAN of 34 States are operational. However, in the State of J&K and UT of Andaman & Nicobar Islands there has been delay in implementation of SWAN due to inadequate vendor response resulting in exorbitant costs.

The State of J&K and UT of Andaman & Nicobar Islands have taken action for rebidding to expedite completion of procedural formalities and engagement of system integrator.

ANNEXURE

SL No	Name of the States/UTs	Fund allocated (Cr.)
1	Andhra Pradesh	197.35
2	Arunachal Pradesh	60.32
3	Assam	101.189
4	Bihar	210.00
5	Chhattisgarh	76.09
6	Goa	0
7	Gujarat	102.98
8	Haryana	97.86
9	Himachal Pradesh	88.03
10	Jammu & Kashmir	51.99
11	Jharkand	127.80
12	Karnataka	83.73
13	Kerala	62.649
14	Madhya Pradesh	127.52
15	Maharashtra	161.06
16	Manipur	20.55
17	Meghalaya	27.34
18	Mizoram	24.09
19	Nagaland	29.45
20	Orissa	120.35
21	Punjab	67.16
22	Rajasthan	141.98
23	Sikkim	23.5
24	Tamil Nadu	102.7785
25	Telengana	24.96
26	Tripura	32.91
27	Uttarakhand	73.62
28	Uttar Pradesh	364.52
29	West Bengal	97.71
UT		
1	Andaman & Nicobar	7.83
2	Chandigarh	8.0365
3	Dadra & Nagar Haveli	9.7199
4	Daman & Diu	4.0577

5	Lakshadweep	10.99
6	NCT of Delhi	7.22
7	Puducherry	10.09
