GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS DEPARTMENT OF POSTS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2808 TO BE ANSWERED ON 3RD AUGUST, 2016

LAND OF POSTAL DEPARTMENT

2808. SHRI P. NAGARAJAN: SHRI VIRENDER KASHYAP:

Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether huge land allotted to Postal Department is lying vacant and unused;
- (b) if so, the details thereof, State-wise;
- (c) the details of the lands which have been illegally encroached upon and the action being taken by the Government to vacate them;
- (d) whether the Government has any proposals to utilise or dispose it of; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE (IC) OF THE MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS & MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI MANOJ SINHA)

- (a) & (b) The Department of Posts has 1764 vacant plots of land which are used for construction of Postal buildings. The state-wise number of vacant plots of land of Department of Posts is enclosed as **Annexure**.
- (c) There are 207 plots of land which are under encroachment. The encroachment cases have been taken up with the local administration and police authorities. First Information Reports have been lodged in some cases. Courts of law have also been approached to reclaim the encroached land.
- (d) & (e) The vacant plots of land are to be utilized for construction of Postal buildings including that of staff quarters, which is an ongoing Plan activity and is carried out subject to availability of funds. Therefore, the question of disposing of any plot of land does not arise.

Contd...2/-

Annexure

ANNEXURE REFERRED IN REPLY TO PART (b) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO 2808

State/Union Territories (U/T)	Vacant plots of land
Andhra Pradesh	109
Telangana	111
Assam	36
Bihar	92
Chhattisgarh	5
Delhi	18
Gujarat	110
Daman & Diu(U/T)	0
Dadra and Nagar Haveli (U/T)	0
Haryana	12
Himachal Pradesh	21
Jharkhand	59
Jammu & Kashmir	6
Karnataka	352
Kerala	144
Lakshadweep	0
Madhya Pradesh	38
Maharashtra	63
Goa	18
Meghalaya	2
Mizoram	3
Manipur	3
Nagaland	7
Arunachal Pradesh	1
Tripura	3
Odisha	40
Punjab	14
Chandigarh	4
Rajasthan	162
Tamil Nadu	148
Puducherry	1
Uttar Pradesh	76
Uttarakhand	19
West Bengal	80
Sikkim	1
Andaman &Nicobar Islands	6
TOTAL	1764
