GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, COOPERATION AND FARMERS WELFARE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2614 TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 2ND AUGUST. 2016

IMPLEMENTATION OF NATIONAL HORTICULTURE MISSION IN RAJASTHAN

2614. SHRI RAHUL KASWAN:

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE कृषि एवं किसान कल्याण मंत्री be pleased to state:

(a) whether nine districts of Rajasthan namely Churu, Sikar, Bharatpur, Hanumangarh, Dausa, Bikaner, Pratapgarh, Rajasmand, Dhaulpur have still not been covered under the National Horticulture Mission (NHM);

(b) if so, the details thereof along with the reasons therefor;

(c) whether the State Government of Rajasthan has made a request to the Union Government to include the said nine districts under the National Horticulture Mission;

- (d) if so, the action taken by the Government thereon; and
- (e) the time by which these districts are likely to be included under the NHM?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE

कृषि एवं किसान कल्याण मंत्रालय में राज्य मंत्री (SHRI PARSHOTTAM RUPALA)

(a) & (b): Yes, Madam. Twenty Four (24) out of thirty-three (33) districts in Rajasthan are covered under National Horticulture Mission (NHM). Name of the districts covered under NHM in Rajasthan is at Annexure.

(c): Yes, Madam. Reference from Rajasthan State Government have been received requesting for inclusion of all remaining districts of the State under NHM.

(d) & (e): On this issue, consistent view of the department is that while finalizing/identifying Districts for inclusion under NHM, a cluster approach for developing potential horticultural crops for ensuring backward and forward linkages was adopted. The selection of the district was decided on the comparative advantage of crops based on agro-climatic conditions, potential for developing marketing opportunities. No new districts are being added as this may result in thinning out of limited resources available.

However, there is a provision under NHM scheme for setting up of infrastructure units relating to post harvest management, marketing and other project based activities in non NHM districts, provided there is a clear linkage of the units with the horticulture produce. Apart from this, activities for development of horticulture in non-NHM districts can be carried out under other Government schemes like Rashtriya Krishi Vikas Yojana (RKVY), Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act (MGNREGA), Paramparagat Krishi Vikas Yojana (PKVY) etc.

Above view of the department was conveyed to the State Government.

Statement showing Districts of Rajasthan covered under National Horticulture Mission under MIDH

Rajasthan		
Number of Districts covered	Twenty four (24)	
Name of Districts	Tonk, Ajmer, Banswara, Dungarpur, Jalore, Jodhpur, Karauli, Pali, Sawai Madhopur, Sirohi, Baran, Barmer, Chittorgarh, Jaipur, Jhalawar, Kota, Nagaur, Sri Ganganagar, Jhunjhunu, Bhilwara, Alwar, Bundi, Udaipur and Jaisalmer.	

72.04	0.00
13.05	5.15
4.10	0.00
61.06	0.00
66.29	32.14
0.00	0.00
48.21	0.00
19.04	0.00
16.00	0.00
14.26	0.00
36.12	0.00
133.55	69.28
0.00	0.00
276.98	0.06
198.01	97.18
14.79	7.40
6.31	0.00
2.26	1.13
21.80	10.90
68.21	0.00
19.09	0.00
7.67	0.00
207.29	103.44
50.82	25.40
40.09	0.00
10.48	0.84
186.28	0.00
21.54	9.75
54.78	25.80
1670.12	388.47