GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF POWER

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2070 TO BE ANSWERED ON 28.07.2016

POWER PLANT/EOV

†2070. SHRI SATYAPAL SINGH:

Will the Minister of POWER be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of power plants proposed to be set up in the country along with the location-wise details thereof;
- (b) the measures being taken by the Government to meet the rising demand of power;
- (c) whether any schemes made under the Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojana are being transferred to other schemes and the works are being carried out under them, if so, the details thereof; and
- (d) the steps taken by the Government to provide electricity to the farmers on concessional rates by laying separate feeder lines for tubewells under the said schemes?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR POWER, COAL, NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND MINES

(SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

- (a): After enactment of Electricity Act 2003, generation of electricity has been de-licensed. As such Techno-Economic clearance of the Central Electricity Authority (CEA) is not required for setting up of thermal power plants. However, as per the information received from Central and State Utilities, details of new thermal, hydro and nuclear power projects proposed to be set up in the country as on 30.06.2016 are given at Annex-I, Annex-II and Annex-III respectively.
- (b): To meet the rising demand of power, as per 18th Electric Power Survey (EPS), the capacity addition target of 88,537 MW from conventional sources have been planned during 12th Five Year Plan. Against this target of 88,537 MW from conventional sources, 86,565.72 MW has been achieved till 30.06.2016.
- (c): No, Madam.
- (d): Under Deendayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojana (DDUGJY), there is a provision for separation of agriculture and non-agriculture feeders facilitating judicious rostering of power supply to agricultural & non-agricultural consumers in the rural areas. However, supply of electricity to the farmers on concessional rates falls under the jurisdiction of respective State Government.

ANNEX REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2070 TO BE ANSWERED IN THE LOK SABHA ON 28.07.2016.

NEW THERMAL POWER PROJECTS PROPOSED BY VARIOUS CENTRAL/ STATE UTILITIES

SI. No.	Name of the Project	State/Location	Capacity (MW)
1.	Telangana-I (2x800 MW)	Telangana Telangana	1600
2.	Katwa STPP (2x800 MW)	West Bengal	1320
3.	Barethi STPP (4x660 MW)	Madhya Pradesh	2640
4.	Pudimadka	Andhra Pradesh	4000
5.	Ghatampur (3x660 MW)	Uttar Pradesh	1980
6.	Bithnok TPP (1x250)	Rajasthan	250
7.	Jawaharpur STPP	Uttar Pradesh	1320
8.	Obra 'C' Extn. (2x660)	Uttar Pradesh	1320
9.	Panki	Uttar Pradesh	660
10.	Dr. NTTPS - Stage V	Andhra Pradesh	800
11.	Sri Damodaram Sanjeevaiah	Andhra Pradesh	800
12.	Edlapur	Karnataka	800
13.	Udangudi TPP	Tamilnadu	1320
14.	North Chennai St-III	Tamilnadu	800
15.	Uppur	Tamilnadu	1600
16.	Yadadri	Telengana	4000
17.	Vijaywada	Andhra Pradesh	800

ANNEX REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2070 TO BE ANSWERED IN THE LOK SABHA ON 28.07.2016.

DETAIL OF PROPOSED HYDRO ELECTRIC PROJECTS

SI. No.	Name of Project	State/Location	Capacity (MW)
1	Miyar	Himachal Pradesh	120
2	New Ganderwal	Jammu & Kashmir	93
3	Rupsiyabagar Khasiyabara	Uttarakhand	261
4	Teesta St-IV	Sikkim	520
5	Dibbin	Arunachal Pradesh	120
6	Nyamjang Chhu	Arunachal Pradesh	780
7	Tawang St-I	Arunachal Pradesh	600
8	Tato-II	Arunachal Pradesh	700
9	Tawang St-II	Arunachal Pradesh	800
10	Siyom	Arunachal Pradesh	1000
11	Kalai-II	Arunachal Pradesh	1200
12	Нео	Arunachal Pradesh	240
13	Tato-I	Arunachal Pradesh	186
14	Dikhu	Nagaland	186
15	Chango Yangthang	Himachal Pradesh	180
16	Chhatru	Himachal Pradesh	126
17	Devsari	Uttarakhand	252
18	Matnar	Chhattisgarh	60
19	Lower Siang	Arunachal Pradesh	2700
20	Hirong	Arunachal Pradesh	500
21	Etalin	Arunachal Pradesh	3097
22	Talong Londa	Arunachal Pradesh	225
23	Naying	Arunachal Pradesh	1000
24	Kynshi – I	Meghalaya	270
25	Lower Kopili	Assam	120
26	Kiru	Jammu &Kashmir	624
27	Kotlibhel St-IA	Uttarakhand	195
28	Kotlibhel St-IB	Uttarakhand	320
29	Kotlibhel St-II	Uttarakhand	530
30	Alaknanda	Uttarakhand	300
31	Pakal Dul	Jammu &Kashmir	1000
32	Kutehr	Himachal Pradesh	240
33	Nafra	Arunachal Pradesh	120
34	Demwe Lower Private	Arunachal Pradesh	1750
35	Athirappilly	Kerala	163
36	Kwar	Jammu &Kashmir	540

37	Sawalkote	Jammu &Kashmir	1856
38	Seli	Himachal Pradesh	400
39	Sach Khas	Himachal Pradesh	267
40	Jelam Tamak	Uttarakhand	108
41	Bowala Nand Paryag	Uttarakhand	300
42	Dagamara	Bihar	130
43	Umngot	Meghalaya	210
44	Subansiri Middle (Kamla)	Arunachal Pradesh	1800
45	Tagurshit	Arunachal Pradesh	74
46	Attunli	Arunachal Pradesh	680
47	Turga PSS	West Bengal	1000
48	Loktak D S	Manipur	66
49	Magochu	Arunachal Pradesh	96
50	Kirthai-II	Jammu &Kashmir	930

ANNEX REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2070 TO BE ANSWERED IN THE LOK SABHA ON 28.07.2016.

DETAILS OF PROPOSED NUCLEAR POWER PROJECTS

SI	Name of Project	State/ Location	Capacity (MW)		
No.					
	Indigenous Reactors				
1.	Gorakhpur	Haryana	4X700		
2.	Chutka	Madhya Pradesh	2X700		
3.	Mahi Banswara	Rajasthan	4X700		
4.	Kaiga	Karnataka	2X700		
5.	Bhimpur	Madhya Pradesh	4X700		
6.	Kalpakkam	Tamil Nadu	2X700		
	Reactors with Foreign Cooperation				
7.	Kudankulam	Tamil Nadu	4X1000 ^s		
8.	Jaitapur	Maharashtra	6X1650		
9.	Kovvada	Andhra Pradesh	6X1000 [*]		
10.	Chhaya Mithi Virdi	Gujarat	6X1000 [*]		
11.	Haripur	West Bengal	6X1000 [*]		

^{*} Nominal Capacity; \$ in Addition to KKNPP 1&2
