GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1460 TO BE ANSWERED ON 26.07.2016

Paris Agreement

1460. SHRI Y.V. SUBBA REDDY:

Will the Minister of ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether it is true that recently 171 countries have signed the Paris Agreement on Climate Change;
- (b) if so, the details of the countries that have signed the accord and the countries that have not signed the same, so far; and
- (c) the steps likely to be taken to bring the proposals of the agreement into action?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE

(SHRI ANIL MADHAV DAVE)

- (a) & (b) 178 countries have signed the Paris Agreement on Climate Change as of 22.07.2016. All parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) have signed it except 19 countries. (List Attached)
- (c) The Paris Agreement pertains to the post-2020 period. The guidelines, rules and modalities to actualize the proposals of the agreement are still being finalized through negotiations under the UNFCCC.

List of Countries that have not signed the Paris Agreement

- 1. ARMENIA
- **2.** CHILE
- **3.** ECUADOR
- **4.** IRAQ
- **5.** KAZAKHASTAN
- **6.** KYRGYZSTAN
- **7.** MALAWI
- 8. NICARAGUA
- **9.** NIUE
- 10. REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA
- 11. SAUDI ARABIA
- 12. SIERRA LEONE
- 13. STATE OF PALESTINE
- 14. SYRIAN ARAB REPUBLIC
- **15.** TOGO
- 16. TURKMENISTAN
- 17. UZBEKISTAN
- **18.** YEMEN
- 19. ZAMBIA