GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. **1303**TO BE ANSWERED ON 25TH JULY, 2016

Setting up of Model Colleges

†1303. SHRIMATI SAKUNTALA LAGURI:

Will the Minister of HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has taken any Steps to set up Model colleges in such districts where literacy level is low in the country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof; and
- (c) the steps taken by the Government in this regard?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (Dr. MAHENDRA NATH PANDEY)

(a) to (c): Under the Centrally Sponsored Scheme of Rashtriya Uchchatar Shiksha Abhiyan (RUSA), Central share is provided for construction of new Model Degree Colleges (MDCs) in Educationally Backward Districts (EBDs), identified on the basis of 2001 Census, which had Gross Enrolment Ratio (GER) less than the national average. The proposals for construction of new MDCs have to be included in the State Higher Education Plans (SHEPs) of the States/UTs and appraised and approved by the Project Approval Board (PAB) of RUSA for availing the Central share. The outlay for each MDC is Rs. 12 crores. The Centre:State share is 90:10 for special category States, 60:40 for other States and 100% Central share for Union Territories.

For the XIIth Plan period, the Cabinet had approved a target of 60 MDCs for RUSA. As on date, the target number of MDCs for the 12th Plan period have been approved. The list of the MDCs approved are **annexed**. Funds are being released to the first 60 MDCs whose Detailed Project Reports, complete in all respects, are received by the National Mission Directorate of RUSA.

Annexure referred to in reply to part (a) to (c) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 1303 for 25-07-2016 asked by Shrimati Sakuntala Laguri, Hon'ble MP regarding Setting up of Model Colleges.

List of Model Degree Colleges (MDCs) approved by the RUSA Project Approval Board:

SI. No	State/UT	District in which MDC approved
1	Andaman & Nicobar Islands	South Andaman
2	Andhra Pradesh	East Godavari
3	Andhra Pradesh	West Godavari
4	Andhra Pradesh	Prakasam
5	Andhra Pradesh	Kurnool
6	Andhra Pradesh	Vizianagaram
7	Andhra Pradesh	Srikakulam
8	Bihar	East Champaran
9	Bihar	West Champaran
10	Bihar	Begusarai
11	Bihar	Purnia
12	Bihar	Katihar
13	Bihar	Saharsa
14	Bihar	Darbhanga
15	Chhattisgarh	Raipur
16	Chhattisgarh	Durg
17	Chhattisgarh	Rajandgaon
18	Chhattisgarh	Kanker
19	Chhattisgarh	Bastar
20	Himachal Pradesh	Chamba
21	Himachal Pradesh	Sirmour
22	Madhya Pradesh	Harda
23	Madhya Pradesh	Jhabua
24	Madhya Pradesh	Sheopur
25	Madhya Pradesh	Dindori
26	Madhya Pradesh	Umaria
27	Nagaland	Mon
28	Odisha	Boudh
29	Odisha	Deogargh
30	Odisha	Malkangiri
31	Odisha	Nabarangpur
32	Odisha	Nayagarh
33	Odisha	Nuapada
34	Odisha	Raygada
35	Odisha	Sonepur
36	Punjab	Ferozpur
37	Punjab	Pathankot
38	Tripura	South Tripura
39	Tripura	North Tripura

SI. No	State/UT	District in which MDC approved
40	Tripura	Dhalai
41	Tripura	West Tripura
42	Telangana	Adilabad
43	Telangana	Medak
44	Telangana	Nizamabad
45	Telangana	Mahabubnagar
46	Uttarakhand	Champawat
47	Uttar Pradesh	Kushinagar
48	Uttar Pradesh	Shravasti
49	Uttar Pradesh	Sant Kabir Nagar
50	Uttar Pradesh	Raebareli
51	Uttar Pradesh	Basti
52	Uttar Pradesh	Moradabad
53	Uttar Pradesh	Bulandshahar
54	Uttar Pradesh	Saharanpur
55	Uttar Pradesh	Rampur
56	Uttar Pradesh	Siddharthnagar
57	Uttar Pradesh	Sonbhadra
58	Uttar Pradesh	Hardoi
59	Uttar Pradesh	Sitapur
60	Uttar Pradesh	Hathras
61	Uttar Pradesh	Badayun
62	Uttar Pradesh	Unnao
63	Uttar Pradesh	Barabanki
64	Uttar Pradesh	Etah
65	Uttar Pradesh	Fatehpur
66	Uttar Pradesh	Banda
67	Uttar Pradesh	Shajananpur
68	Uttar Pradesh	Pilibhit
69	Uttar Pradesh	Mahoba
70	Uttar Pradesh	Lalitpur
71	Uttar Pradesh	Hamirpur
72	Uttar Pradesh	Balrampur
