GOVERNMENT OF INDIA

MINISTRY OF URBAN DEVELOPMENT

LOK SABHA

STARRED QUESTION NO. 60 TO BE ANSWERED ON JULY 20, 2016

CHANGE IN CRITERIA FOR AMRUT

No.*60 SHRI V. ELUMALAI:
SHRI PRAHLAD SINGH PATEL:

Will the Minister of URBAN DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has changed the criteria of one lakh population for inclusion under Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) and if so, the details thereof;
- (b) whether many more municipalities have become eligible for the inclusion under AMRUT by the said changes and if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether some State Government have requested for inclusion of more municipalities under AMRUT; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof and the action taken/being taken by the Government in this regard?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF URBAN DEVELOPMENT (SHRI M .VENKAIAH NAIDU)

(a)to (d): A Statement is laid on the table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO THE LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. *60 FOR 20.07.2016 REGARDING CHANGE IN CRITERIA FOR AMRUT.

- (a): No changes have been made in the criteria for inclusion of a city under Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT). The mission mandates selection of a total number of 500 cities as mission cities. All cities having population of one lakh or more and having notified Municipalities are eligible, besides capital cities of States and Union territories, cities classified as heritage cities under HRIDAY scheme of this ministry, cities on the stem of main rivers and from hill states, islands and tourist destinations.
- (b): Does not arise.
- (c) & (d): Yes, Madam. Some State/UT Governments have requested for inclusion of cities under AMRUT. The details are at Annexure.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO THE LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. *60 FOR 20.07.2016 REGARDING CHANGE IN CRITERIA FOR AMRUT.

Details of requests received from State/UT Governments for inclusion of cites under AMRUT and action taken thereon

SI.	Request from	Proposed Cities	Action taken
No	State/UT		
1	Andhra	1.Kavali	Kavali and Srikalahasti
	Pradesh	2.Srikalahasti	considered under category (v) and
		3. Rayachoti,	(iv) respectively and included.
		4. Yemmiganur	Others cities are not eligible as
		5. Gudur	per Guidelines.
2	Assam	1.Tinsukia	Not eligible as per Guidelines.
		2.Tezpur	
		3.Jorhat	
3	Arunachal	5-6 more towns	Not eligible as per Guidelines.
	Pradesh	beside	
		Itanagar,	
		Names not	
		specified.	
4	Chhattisgarh	Naya Raipur	Not eligible as per Guidelines.
5	Goa	Mormugoa	Not eligible as per Guidelines.
6	Himachal	1.Kullu	Kullu Considered and included
	Pradesh	2.Dharamshhala	under category (v) of the
		2.Mandi	Guidelines of the Mission. Others
		3.Manali	cities are not eligible as per
			Guidelines.
7	Jammu &	1.Kargil	Kargil considered under category
	Kashmir	2.Katra	(iv) and included. Others cities are
		3.Baramulla	not eligible as per Guidelines.

8	Jharkhand	1.Jamshedpur NAC 2.Mango 3.Ramgarh	Not eligible as per Guidelines.
		4.Sahebganj	
9	Kerala	1.Kannur	Kannur and Guruyayur considered
		2.Guruvayur	under category (i) and (v)
		3.Malappuram	respectively and included. Others
		4.Kalpetta	cities are not eligible as per
		5.Ponani	Guidelines.
10	Maharashtra	Shirdi	Considered under category (v) and
			included.
11	Mizoram	Lunglei	Not eligible as per Guidelines.
12	Madhya	1.Dabra	Dabra considered under category
	Pradesh	2.Itarsi	(i) and included. Others cities are
			not eligible as per Guidelines.
13	Punjab	1.Phagawara	Not eligible as per Guidelines.
		2.Kapurthala	
14	Puducherry	Karaikal	Considered under category (v) and included.
15	Rajasthan	1.Jhalwar	Jhalawar considered under
		2.Banswara	category (v) and included. Others
		3.Makrana	cities are not eligible as per
		4.Barmer	Guidelines.
		5.Sardarshahar	
		6.Karauli	
		7.Rajasamand	
16	Tamil Nadu	1.Rameshwaram	Rameshwaram considered under
		2.Karur	category (v) and included.
		3.Villupuram	
		4.Namakkal	
		5.Udhagamandal	
		am	
		6.Rameswaram	

17	Telangana	1.Siddipet	Siddipet considered under
		2.Nirmal	category (i) and included.
		3.Wanaparhty	
		4.Mancherial	
		5.Kothaguddem	
		6.Jagityal	
18	Uttarakhand	1.Nainital	Nainital considered under
		2.Mussoorie	category (v) and included. Others
		3.Rishikesh	cities are not eligible as per
		4.Pithoragarh	Guidelines.
