GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 247 TO BE ANSWERED ON 03.08.2016

RECOMMENDATIONS OF RAILWAY COMMITTEES

†*247. SHRI RAMDAS C. TADAS: SHRI P.C. MOHAN:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has constituted any committee(s) to review the functioning of various wings of the Indian Railways, if so, the details thereof;
- (b) whether the Railways has received the reports from these committees and if so, the major recommendations made therein to improve the Railways' systems;
- (c) whether the Railways has accepted these recommendations and if so, the details thereof; and
- (d) the other steps taken to implement the recommendations received from these committees?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS

(SHRI SURESH PRABHAKAR PRABHU)

(a) to (d): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (d) OF STARRED QUESTION No. 247 BY SHRI RAMDAS C. TADAS AND SHRI P.C. MOHAN TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 03.08.2016 REGARDING RECOMMENDATIONS OF RAILWAY COMMITTEES.

- (a): In the long history of Indian Railways, a large number of Committees have been set up from time to time to examine various issues relating to the Railway working. During the last two years, the following important Committees have been set up:-
- (i) Committee under the Chairmanship of Dr. Bibek Debroy set up in September, 2014;
- (ii) High Level Committee to identify factors, issues and avenues for improving financial health of Railways headed by Shri D.K.Mittal, set up in December, 2014;
- (iii)One-man Committee headed by Dr. E.Sreedharan set up in November, 2014 to suggest proper system and procedures to ensure proper accountability and transparency at the General Managers and other functionaries level for taking all Commercial decisions, including that of tendering.
- (b): Yes, Madam. The major recommendations made by the Committees are as under:-
 - (i) Dr. Bibek Debroy Committee's major recommendations pertain to Organizational restructuring, re-organisation/ rationalization of multiple services/cadres, delegation of power, accounting reform, regulatory authority, phase-out of rail budget, separation of operations and infrastructure etc. Many of the recommendations of this Committee were already part of the Railway Budget Speech 2015-16.

- (ii) D.K.Mittal Committee suggested ways and means to improve the financial health of Indian Railways. It has suggested short-term, medium term, long-term measures for improvement in the areas of goods, passenger tariff revenues. It has also suggested measures that can be taken for long term resource mobilization and to improve efficiency and productivity of Indian Railways.
- (iii) Dr. E.Sreedharan Committee's major recommendations are:-
- (1) Decentralisation of purchase of Diesel/Petroleum Oil Lubricant(POL), Rails, Sleeper, Track machines, Locomotives, Train Sets, Coaches and Wagons to either Zonal Railways or Production Units or Central Organization for Modernization of Workshops.
- (2) Delegation of full powers to General Managers for sanction of detailed Estimates, Tenders and Re-appropriation of Funds and substantial enhancement of powers regarding Material modification, rewards/honorariums and other miscellaneous matters.
- (3) Research Designs & Standards Organisation (RDSO) should have no role in vendor approval and material inspection activities. These activities should be performed by Zonal Railways/Production Units.
- (4) Complete transfer of catering to Indian Railways Catering and Tourism Corporation (IRCTC).

(c) & (d): Several recommendations of the Committees have been accepted for implementation. Many of the recommendations such as accounting reforms, delegation of powers and resource maximisation etc. also pertain to initiatives already undertaken by the Ministry. A Committee-wise summary of the recommendations is as under:

S. No	Name of the Committee	Total No. of recommenda -tions made	No. of recommendations acted upon/ accepted	No. of Recommenda- tions partially accepted
1	Bibek Debroy Committee	40	8	2
2	D.K. Mittal Committee	239	69	17
3	E. Sreedharan Committee	167	67	45
