## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TOURISM

## LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO.\*110 ANSWERED ON 25.07.2016

#### RAMAYANA AND KRISHNA CIRCUITS

### \*110. SHRI J.J.T. NATTERJEE: SHRIMATI RITI PATHAK:

Will the Minister of TOURISM be pleased to state:

- (a) the present status of development of Ramayana, Buddha, Sufi and Krishna Tourist Circuits in the country;
- (b) whether the Government proposes to develop Ramayana, Buddha, Sufi and Krishna tourist circuits in the country under the swadesh darshan scheme;
- (c) if so, the details thereof and the destinations identified in different States under this scheme;
- (d) the funds allocated/sanctioned for the development of the destinations in the proposed tourist circuits; and
- (e) whether the Government has made any agreement for including Sri Lanka in the Ramayana Tourist Circuit and if so, the details thereof?

#### **ANSWER**

# MINISTER OF STATE FOR TOURISM (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) (DR. MAHESH SHARMA)

(a) to (e): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

\*\*\*\*\*

STATEMENT IN REPLY TO LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO.\*110 ANSWERED ON 25.07.2016 REGARDING RAMAYANA AND KRISHNA CIRCUITS.

- (a): The Ministry of Tourism has launched the Swadesh Darshan scheme for integrated development of theme based tourist circuits in the country in 2014-15. Ramayana, Krishna, Buddhist and Spiritual Circuits are among the thirteen thematic circuits identified for development under the scheme. Sufi Circuit has not been identified as a thematic circuit for development under the scheme however, places related to Sufism are covered under the Spiritual Circuit theme.
- (b): The destinations initially identified for development under the Ramayana, Krishna and Buddhist Circuits in the country are as under:
  - Ramayana Circuit: Ayodhya, Nandigram, Shringverpur & Chitrakoot (Uttar Pradesh); Sitamarhi, Buxar & Darbhanga (Bihar); Chitrakoot (Madhya Pradesh); Mahendragiri (Odisha); Jagdalpur (Chattisgarh); Nashik & Nagpur (Maharashtra); Bhadrachalam (Telangana); Hampi (Karnataka) and Rameshwaram (Tamil Nadu).
  - Buddhist Circuit: All places associated with the Buddhist heritage in the country.
  - Krishna Circuit: Dwarka (Gujarat); Nathdwara, Jaipur & Sikar (Rajasthan); Kurukshetra (Haryana), Mathura, Vrindavan, Gokul, Barsana, Nandgaon & Govardhan (Uttar Pradesh) and Puri (Odisha).

(c) & (d): The details of funds sanctioned for the development of the destinations in the proposed tourist circuits are as follows:

(Rs. in Crore)

Amount sanctioned aral 33.17 aya ide
iral 33.17 aya ide nist
aya ide nist
ide nist
nist
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
rist 9.35
at
ıra- 14.93
rist
t at 50.00
am-
ver
ega
nist 74.94
wa-
hya

(e): The Ministry of Tourism has not made any agreement for inclusion of Sri Lanka in Ramayana Tourist Circuit however both the countries have agreed to carry out joint promotional activities for Ramayana Trail in both the countries.

\*\*\*\*\*