GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 534 TO BE ANSWERED ON 27.04.2016

PROPOSALS FOR COST SHARING

†534. SHRI GOPAL SHETTY:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has received any proposals from the various States including Maharashtra for New Railway Projects in their States on cost sharing basis;
- (b) if so, the details thereof and the present status of proposals, State-wise; and
- (c) the time by which the said proposals are likely to be finalised?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI MANOJ SINHA)

(a) to (c): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (c) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 534 BY SHRI GOPAL SHETTY TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 27.04.2016 REGARDING PROPOSALS FOR COST SHARING

(a) to (c): Proposals from State Governments are received at various levels including Railway Board, Zonal Railways and Divisional levels. A centralized compendium of such proposals is not maintained. On request of Hon'ble Chief Minister of Maharashtra, three New Line projects falling partly or fully in the State of Maharashtra, viz. Ahmednagar-Beed-Parli Vaijnath (250 Km), Wardha-Nanded via Yavatmal-Pusood (270 Km) and Wadsa-Gadchiroli (50 Km) have been taken up on cost sharing basis with the Government of Maharashtra. In addition, Nagpur-Nagbhir Gauge Conversion project (106 Km) and Karad-Chiplun New Line project (112 Km) have also been included in the Budget in 2013-14 and 2015-16 respectively on cost sharing basis with the Government of Maharashtra subject to requisite approvals.

Ministry of Railways has also included 13 projects in Railway Budget 2016-17 subject to requisite approvals which are proposed to be taken up on Joint Venture model. The details of the projects are:-

S. No.	Name of project	Rly	PH	Length (Km)	Cost (Rs in cr)	State
1	Vikramshila-Katareah (Pirpanthi- Naugachia)	ECR	NL	18	1601	Bihar, Jharkhand
2	Dongargarh-Kharigarh- Kawardha-Bilaspur	SECR	NL	270	2500	Chhattisgarh
3	Jeypore-Malkangiri	ECOR	NL	130	1277	Odisha
4	Jeypore-Navarangpur	ECOR	NL	38	485	Odisha
5	Chitra-Basukinath	ER	NL	37	859	Jharkhand
6	Meerut- Panipat	NR	NL	104	2200	Uttar Pradesh
7	Godda-Pakur	ER	NL	80	1723	Bihar, Jharkhand
8	Bahraich-Sravasti- Balrampur(tulsipur)	NER	NL	80	1600	Uttar Pradesh
9	Morappur and Dharmapuri new line	SR	NL	36	134	Tamil nadu
10	Indore-Manmad via Malegaon	CR	NL	368	9968	Madhya Pradesh,

S. No.	Name of project	Rly	PH	Length (Km)	Cost (Rs in cr)	State
						Maharashtra
11	Indore-Jabalpur	WCR	NL	342	4320	Madhya Pradesh
12	Pune-Nashik	CR	NL	265	2425	Maharashtra
13	Guntakal- Guntur	SCR	DL	443	4000	Andhra
						Pradesh

Further, in anticipation of various State Governments coming forward to take up projects through Joint Venture, 30 projects (25 New Line, 2 Doubling & 3 Gauge Conversion) have been included in Capital Investment Programme of 2016-17 (incorporated as annexure to the 'Pink Book' of sanctioned works) at an anticipated cost of Rs. 58,274 crores. Details of these 30 projects are as under:-

S. No.	Name of project	Rly	PH	Length (Km)	Cost (Rs in cr)	State
1	Daboi-Chandod GC with extn. to Rajpipla new line	WR	GC	37	1500	Gujarat
2	Chuchapura-Navsasri- Tanakhala	WR	GC	38	500	Gujarat
3	Gadchandur-Adilabad	SCR	NL	70	1500	Maharashtra, Telangana
4	Behrampur-Sambalpur	ECoR	NL	270	5000	Odisha
5	Junagarh-Ambaguda via Navrangpur	ECoR	NL	145	2900	Odisha
6	Banspani-Barbil	ECoR	NL	17.5	350	Odisha
7	Gadwal-Macherla	SCR	NL	184	3500	Telangana, Andhra Pradesh
8	Kannur-Mattannur	SR	NL	23	400	Kerala
9	Nanjangod-Nilambur	SR	NL	236	6000	Kerala, Karnataka
10	Lumding-Dibrugarh	NFR	DL	340	5000	Assam
11	Mysore-Kushalnagar	SWR	NL	85	667	Karnataka
12	Barson-Banspani/ Narayangarh	ECoR	NL	52	1400	Odisha
13	Jaisalmer-Bhaber	NWR	NL	339	5000	Rajasthan
14	Kashipur-Dhampur	NR	NL	58	1200	Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand

S. No.	Name of project	Rly	PH	Length (Km)	Cost (Rs in cr)	State
15	Latur-Nanded via Loha & Ahmedpur	CR	NL	155	3100	Maharashtra
16	Parbatsar to Kishangarh	NWR	NL	45	900	Rajasthan
17	Bhiwani-Loharu	NR	NL	64	1280	Haryana
18	Dehradun-Vikasnagar	NR	NL	38	628	Uttarakhand
19	Ujjain Fatehabad	WR	GC	20	120	Madhya Pradesh
20	Urai-Mahoba	NCR	NL	90	1800	Uttar Pradesh
21	Bhind-Lahar-Konch	NCR	NL	80	1600	Madhya Pradesh
22	Jeur Ashti	CR	NL	78	1560	Maharashtra
23	Talaguppa-Siddhapura	SWR	NL	16	320	Karnataka
24	Bangarpet- Mulbagal	SWR	NL	40	800	Karnataka
25	Sakleshpur- Subramaniyam Rd	SWR	DL	60	500	Karnataka
26	Secunderabad- Zaheerabad	SCR	NL	70	1400	Telangana
27	Bodan- Bidar	SCR	NL	100	2000	Telangana
28	Jalna-Khamgaon	CR	NL	155	3000	Maharashtra
29	Talguppa- Honavar	SWR	NL	82	2500	Karnataka
30	Dharwad - Belgaum	SWR	NL	91	1850	Karnataka

As the above mentioned projects are subject to consent of the State Government and requisite approvals / clearances, accordingly, no timeframe has been fixed for completion of these projects.

* CR-Central Railway
ER-Eastern Railway
ECR-East Central Railway
SR-Southern Railway
SCR-South Central Railway
SER-South Eastern Railway

ECoR-East Coast Railway
NR-Northern Railway
NCR-North Central Railway
SECR-South East Central Railway
SWR-South Western Railway
WR-Western Railway

NER-North Eastern Railway NFR-Northeast Frontier Railway NWR-North Western Railway WCR-West Central Railway

^{**} NL-New Line, GC-Gauge Conversion, DL-Doubling