GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF MINORITY AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2814 TO BE ANSWERED ON 11-05-2016

Central Minority Commission

2814 SHRI ASHWINI KUMAR:

Will the Minister of **MINORITY AFFAIRS** be pleased to state:

- (a) the details and names of members of the Central Minority Commission at present;
- (b) the community to which they belong;
- (c) whether Jain community, which has been declared as a minority community, is likely to be represented in the commission; and
- (d) if so, the time by which it is likely to be done?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF MINORITY AFFAIRS (SHRI MUKHTAR ABBAS NAQVI)

(a)&(b) The details and names of Chairperson and Members in the National Commission Minorities (NCM) are as under:-

| S.No. | Name | Representing Minority Community |
|-------|-------------------------------------|------------------------------------|
| 1. | Shri Naseem Ahmad, Chairperson. | Muslim |
| 2. | Ms. Mabel Rebello, Member | Christian |
| 3. | Prof. Farida Abdulla Khan, Member | Muslim |
| 4. | Shri Praveen Davar, Member | Hindu |
| 5. | Shri Dadi E. Mistry, Member | Parsi |
| 6 | Shri Tsering Namgyal Shanoo, Member | Buddhist |
| 7. | One Member - Vacant | - |

(c&(d) No time line has been fixed by the Central Government to nominate a Member of the Jain minority community in the National Commission for Minorities (NCM).
