## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURAL RESEARCH & EDUCATION

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1439 TO BE ANSWERED ON 03/05/2016

#### KRISHI DAK SCHEME

#### 1439. SHRI SUNIL KUMAR SINGH:

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE कृषि और किसान कल्याण मंत्री be pleased to state:

- (a) the details and the salient features of Krishi Dak Service Scheme;
- (b) the names of the States where 'Krishi Dak Service' has been implemented and the number of Seed Dakpals functioning at present, State-wise;
- (c) the details of jurisdiction and the nature of functioning of seed Dakpals';
- (d) whether the Government proposes to set up seed banks in all the districts of the country and if so, the details thereof, State-wise; and
- (e) the manner in which the farmers are likely to be benefited by the Scheme?

#### ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE कृषि और किसान कल्याण मंत्रालय में राज्य मंत्री

### (SHRI MOHANBHAI KALYANJIBHAI KUNDARIYA)

(a) The Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI) of ICAR has conceived the idea of using the vast network of post offices spread in rural area and village level post masters in dissemination of improved seeds. The basic idea of this Model is to send the seeds of improved varieties through postal services to the identified village post masters who in turn distribute the seed to the selected farmers of the villages under his area for cultivation. The village level post masters are being trained in improved farm practices and are expected to perform the role of change agents. The Krishi Vigyan Kendra (KVK) at the grassroots level is associated in the model. They are expected to provide capacity building of the village post masters and the farmers. The model has been named as 'Krishi Dak'.

- (b) 'Krishi Dak' model is being implemented in 14 states (Jammu & Kashmir, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Rajasthan, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Odisha, West Bengal, Bihar and Jharkhand) covering more than 175 Branch Post Masters (BPMs) or 'Sakha Dakpals'
- (c) The Branch Post masters facilitates in reaching the farmers in the jurisdiction of their branch post office (ranging from 4-5 villages to 12-15 villages). The Branch Post Masters (BPMs) and farmers were trained in improved farm practices with the help of local Krishi Vigyan Kendras (KVKs). These postmaster/farmers laid out demonstrations of improved IARI varieties and other technologies on their farms, which became the place of learning for other farmers and the seed produced from such demonstration farms were further made available to other farmers.
- (d) The establishment & maintenance of Seed Bank Programme which was under implementation from the year 1999-2000 and onwards which has been re-structured as National Seed Reserve for implementation during the remaining year of 12<sup>th</sup> plan period i.e. from 2014-15 to 2016-17. The National Seed Reserve (NSR) programme is being implemented by about 22 implementing agencies in the country namely National Seed Corporation (NSC), State Seeds Corporations (17), and State Agricultural Departments (4). The detailed list of NSR implementing agencies is given in **Annexure.**
- (e) The scheme is beneficial to farmers in meeting the requirement of seeds of short and medium duration crops during natural calamities and unforeseen conditions.

\*\*\*\*\*

# Annexure [Part (d) to Lok Sabha USQ No.1439 for 03-05-2016]

S.No		Name of Implementing Agency	No. of Implementing agency
1	National Seed Corporation		1
2	State Department of Agriculture	Himachal Pradesh Jammu & Kashmir Jharkhand Tamil Nadu	4
3	State Seeds Corporations	Andhra Pradesh State Seed Development Corporation  Assam seed corporation  Bihar Rajya Beej Nigam Ltd Chhattisgarh Rajya Beej Nigam Gujarat State Seed Corporation  Haryana Seeds Development Corporation  Karnataka State Seeds Corporation Limited  Kerala State Seed Development Authority Maharashtra State Seed Corporation  Madhya Pradesh State Seed Development Corporation  Orissa State Seed Corporation  Punjab State Seed Corporation  Rajasthan State Seed Corporation  Telangana state seed development corporation  Uttarakhand seeds and tarai development corporation limited  Uttar Pradesh State Seed Development Corporation  West Bengal State Seed Corporation	17
Total			22

\*\*\*\*\*