# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CHEMICALS AND FERTILIZERS Department of Chemicals & Petrochemicals

## LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1426 TO BE ANSWERED ON TUESDAY, MAY 03<sup>rd</sup>, 2016

#### NATIONAL INVESTMENT AND MANUFACTURING ZONES

1426: SHRI C. MAHENDRAN:

Will the Minister of Minister of CHEMICALS AND FERTILIZERS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is planning to establish National Investment and Manufacturing Zones (NIMZ) as mega investment regions equipped with world class infrastructure and if so, the details and the objectives thereof; and
- (b) the list of locations selected for the purpose?

#### **ANSWER**

### THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR CHEMICALS AND FERTILIZERS (HANSRAJ GANGARAM AHIR)

(a) & (b): The Government notified the National Manufacturing Policy (NMP) through a Press Note dated 4th November, 2011 with the objective of enhancing the share of manufacturing in GDP to 25% and creating 100 million jobs by 2022. National Investment & Manufacturing Zones (NIMZs) are important instrumentalities of the Policy. These Zones conceptualized as integrated industrial townships with all important elements necessary to help the growth of manufacturing, e.g. state-of-the-art infrastructure; clean and energy efficient technology; simplified business regulations; and the necessary social and institutional infrastructure.

So far eight Investment Regions along the Delhi Mumbai Industrial Corridor (DMIC) project have been announced as NIMZs. The details are as under: Ahmedabad-Dholera Investment Region, Gujarat Shendra-Bidkin Industrial Park city near Aurangabad, Maharashtra Manesar-Bawal Investment Region, Haryana Khushkhera-Bhiwadi-Neemrana Investment Region, Rajasthan Pithampur-Dhar-Mhow Investment Region, Madhya Pradesh Dadri-Noida-Ghaziabad Investment Region, Uttar Pradesh Dighi Port Industrial Area, Maharashtra; and Jodhpur-Pali-Marwar Region in Rajasthan

Fourteen NIMZs outside the DMIC region have also been given in-principle approval (i) Nagpur in Maharashtra (ii) Prakasam in Andhra Pradesh (iii) Chittoor in Andhra Pradesh (iv) Medak in Telangana (v) Hyderabad Pharma NIMZ in Rangareddy and Mahbubnagar Distts., Telangana (vi) Tumkur in Karnataka (vii) Kolar in Karnataka (viii) Bidar in Karnataka (ix) Gulbarga in

Karnataka (x) Kalinganagar, Jajpur District in Odisha (xi) Ramanathapuram District of Tamil Nadu (xii) Ponneri Taluk, Thiruvallur District, Tamil Nadu (xiii) Auraiya District in Uttar Pradesh; and (xiv) Jhansi District in Uttar Pradesh.

Out of these NIMZs, the NIMZs at (i) Prakasam in Andhra Pradesh and (ii) Medak in Telangana have been granted final approval.

\*\*\*\*\*\*