### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TOURISM

### LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.†1269 ANSWERED ON 02.05.2016

## INCLUSION OF KURUKSHETRA IN WORLD CLASS TOURIST CENTRES

#### †1269. SHRI RATTAN LAL KATARIA:

Will the Minister of TOURISM be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to enlist world famous Geeta Gyansthali, Kurukshetra Dham and Saraswati Udhyam Sthal Adhi-badri in the Central list of world class tourist centres;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether the Hon'ble Minister of Tourism has himself visited Geeta Gyan Sthali and Jyotisar and Saraswati Udhyam Sthal Adhi-badri;
- (d) if so, the details thereof and the details of the assurance given by the Minister of Tourism;
- (e) whether the Government has decided to construct Krishna corridor from Geeta Sthali Jyotisar Pehwa Kurukshetra to Adhi-badri; and
- (f) if so, the details thereof along with the funds earmarked for construction of the same?

#### **ANSWER**

# MINISTER OF STATE FOR TOURISM (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) (DR. MAHESH SHARMA)

(a) to (d): Development, identification and promotion of tourism infrastructure is primarily the responsibility of the State Governments/UT Administrations. However, Ministry of Tourism provides Central Financial Assistance for projects identified in consultation with the State Governments/UTs for development of tourist infrastructure in the country. The projects are sanctioned

subject to availability of funds, liquidation of pending utilization certificates, submission of suitable Detailed Project Reports and adherence to the scheme guidelines.

For development of tourism infrastructure in the country, the Ministry of Tourism has introduced two new schemes in 2014-15 i.e. Swadesh Darshan - Integrated Development of Theme-Based Tourist Circuits and PRASAD- Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual Augmentation Drive. Under Swadesh Darshan scheme thirteen thematic circuits have been identified for development namely North-East India Circuit, Buddhist Circuit, Himalayan Circuit, Coastal Circuit, Krishna Circuit, Desert Circuit, Tribal Circuit, Eco Circuit, Wildlife Circuit, Rural Circuit, Spiritual Circuit, Ramayana Circuit and Heritage Circuit. Under PRASAD scheme thirteen cities have been identified for development, namely: Amritsar, Ajmer, Mathura, Varanasi, Gaya, Puri, Amravati, Kanchipuram, Vellankanni, Kedarnath, Dwarka, Patna and Kamakhya.

(e) & (f): Krishna Circuit has been identified as one of the thematic circuits for development under Swadesh Darshan Scheme. However, as on date no project has been sanctioned by the Ministry under this theme.

\*\*\*\*