### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

## LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 53 TO BE ANSWERED ON 27.04.2016

#### **SECURITY SYSTEM AT SENSITIVE STATIONS**

#### †\*53. SHRI AJAY NISHAD:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether several railway stations across the country have been identified as sensitive stations:
- (b) if so, the details thereof, division-wise;
- (c) whether any Committee has been set up to study the security system of these sensitive stations and for their upgradation and if so, the details thereof;
- (d) whether any report has been presented by the Committee in this regard; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof and whether any measures have been taken for the time bound implementation of the scheme regarding security system as per the report and if so, the details in this regard?

#### **ANSWER**

#### **MINISTER OF RAILWAYS**

(SHRI SURESH PRABHAKAR PRABHU)

(a) to (e): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

\*\*\*\*

STATEMENT REFERRED IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (e) OF STARRED QUESTION NO. 53 BY SHRI AJAY NISHAD TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 27.04.2016 REGARDING SECURITY SYSTEM AT SENSITIVE STATIONS

- (a): Yes, Madam. 202 railway stations have been identified as sensitive for the purpose of installation of an Integrated Security System (ISS) over Indian Railways.
- (b): Division-wise position is Appended.
- (c) &(d): A seven member expert committee was constituted by the Ministry of Railways in 2008 to formulate an Integrated Security System to strengthen surveillance mechanism at identified sensitive stations. Based on the report of the Expert Committee and further deliberations, ISS has been conceptualized as comprising of following components which together provide multiple checking of passengers and its baggage from the point of entry in the station premises till boarding of train-
- Internet protocol based close circuit television (CCTV) camera
- Access control
- Personal and baggage screening system
- Bomb Detection and Disposal System
- (e): CCTV cameras have already been installed over 89 railway stations under ISS. Besides above, 27 under-vehicle scanning system and 114 baggage scanners have also been provided at nominated stations under ISS. Close monitoring is being done and all the zonal railways have been advised to ensure early implementation of the Integrated Security System at identified sensitive stations.

\*\*\*\*

# APPENDIX REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (b) OF STARRED QUESTION NO.53 BY SHRI AJAY NISHAD TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 27.04.2016 REGARDING SECURITY SYSTEM AT SENSITIVE STATIONS

S. No.	Zone	Division	Name of Stations
1	Central Railway Mumbai	Bhusawal	Bhusawal, Nasik Road, Manmad, Chalisgaon, Jalgaon, Akola, Murtajapur, Badnera
	Area	Nagpur	Nagpur
		Pune	Pune, Miraj
		Mumbai	Chatrapati Shivaji Terminal (Main line & Suburban), Dadar, Kurla, Lokmanya Tilak Terminus, Thane & Kalyan
2	Eastern	Howrah	Bardhaman, Howrah.
	Railway Kolkata	Sealdah	Sealdah, Kolkata(T), Bidhannagar, Majherhat, Ballygunge, Dum Dum
	Area	Asansol	Asansol, Durgapur
		Malda	Malda
3	Kolkata		Dum Dum Jn, Belgachia, Shyambazar,
	Metro		Sovabazar, Girish Park, Mahatma Gandhi Road, Central, Chandni Chowk, Esplanade, Park Street, Maidan, Rabindra Sadan, Netaji Bhawan, Jatindas Park, Kalighat, Rabindra Sarobar, Tollygunge, Kudghat, Bansdram, Naktala, Garia
			Bazar, Birji (Previously Pranab Nagar) New Garia.
4	East	Dhanbad	Dhanbad
	Central	Mughalsarai	Mughalsarai
	Railway	Danapur	Patna Jn., Rajendra Nagar
		Sonpur	Muzzafar Pur
		Samastipur	Samastipur, Raxaul
5	East	Khurda Road	Puri, Cuttack, Bhubaneshwar,.
	Coast Railway	Waltair	Visakapatnam
6	Northern Railway	Delhi	New Delhi, Delhi Main, H.Nizamuddin, Shahdara, Tilak Bridge, Sarai Rohilla, Delhi Cantt, Shivazi Bridge, Anand Vihar, Ghaziabad.

		Lucknow	Lucknow, Varanasi, Faizabad, Ayodhya
		Firozpur	Srinagar, Badgam, Anantnag,
			Jammutawi, Udhampur, Amritsar,
			Jalandhar, Ludhiana, Chakkibank,
			Brijbehra, Panjgam, Awantipura,
			Kakapore, Pampore, Rajwansher
		Ambala	Ambala, Saharanpur, Kalka, Bathinda,
			Chandigarh, Patiala
		Moradabad	Bareilly, Moradabad, Haridwar
7	North Central	Agra	Agra, Mathura
	Railway	Jhansi	Jhansi
		Allahabad	Kanpur, Allahabad
8	North	Lucknow	Lucknow, Gorakhpur
	Eastern Railway	Banaras	Chapra
9	Northeast Frontier	Lumding	Guwahati, Dimapur, Diphu, Lumding, Maibong
	Railway	Katihar	Katihar, Kishanganj, Siliguri, New Jalpaiguri
		Alipurduar	Kokrajhar
		Tinsukia	New Tinsukia, Simalguri, Jorhat Town, Mariani, Furkating, Dibrugarh
10	North	Jaipur	Jaipur
	Western	Ajmer	Ajmer
	Railway	Bikaner	Bikaner
		Jodhpur	Jodhpur
11.	Southern	Trivandrum	Trivandrum, Ernakulam
	Railway	Trichy	Tiruchirapalli
		Salem	Coimbatore
		Madurai	Madurai
		Palghat	Calicut, Mangalore
		Chennai	Chennai Central, Chennai Egmore, Beach,
			Mambalam, Tambaram, Basin Bridge, Tiruvallur
12	South	Secunderabad	Secunderabad, Hyderabad
	Central Railway	Guntakal	Tirupati

13	South	Kharagpur	Kharagpur, Midnapur.
	Eastern	Ranchi	Ranchi, Muri
	Railway	Chakradharpur	Tatanagar, Chakradharpur, Rourkela, Jharsuguda
		Adra	Bokaro, Puruliya, Adra
14	South	Bilaspur	Bilaspur, Raipur
	East Central Railway	Nagpur	Gondia
15	South	Bangalore	Bangalore, Yaswantpur
	Western Railway	Mysore	Mysore
16	West Central Railway	Bhopal	Bhopal, Itarsi.
17	Western Railway Mumbai Area	Mumbai	Surat, Church Gate, Marine Drive, Charni Road, Grant Road, Mumbai Central, Mahalaxmi, Lower Parel, Elphinston Road, Dadar, Matunga Road, Mahim, Bandra Local, Bandra Terminus, Khar Road, Santa Cruz, Vile Parle, Andheri, Jogeshwari, Goregaon, Malad, Kandivali, Borivali, Dahisar, Miraroad, Bhayander, Nayagaon, Basairoad, Nalasupara, Virar, Palghar, Boisar, Dahanuroad.
		Vadodra	Vadodara, Godhra
		Ratlam	Ujjain
		Ahmedabad	Ahmedabad

\*\*\*\*