# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CULTURE

### **LOK SABHA**

# STARRED QUESTION NO. \*13 TO BE ANSWERED ON 25.04.2016

## SETTING UP OF INSTITUTES OF EXCELLENCE

## \*13. SHRIMATI KAVITHA KALVAKUNTLA:

Will the Minister of CULTURE be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of institutes and agencies engaged in the promotion of performing and visual arts;
- (b) the details of funds made available and utilised by them, institute-wise, during the last three years;
- (c) whether the Government plans to set up institutes of excellence in the management of cultural institutions and in the field of performing and visual arts and if so, the details thereof; and
- (d) the time by which these institutes are likely to be set up?

# MINISTER OF STATE (IC) FOR CULTURE & TOURISM AND MINISTER OF STATE FOR CIVIL AVIATION (DR. MAHESH SHARMA)

### **ANSWER**

(a) to (d) A statement is laid on the Table of the House.

# STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY OF LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. \*13 FOR ANSWER ON 25.04.2016 REGARDING SETTING UP OF INSTITUTES OF EXCELLENCE

- (a): The Ministry of Culture has three National Akademies, viz., Lalit Kala Akademi to encourage and promote study and research in the fields of creative arts such as painting, sculpture, graphics etc., Sangeet Natak Akademi for music, dance and drama specializing in the performing arts of the country and Sahitya Akademi for literary works. In addition, in the field of performing arts, Ministry of Culture has a National School of Drama and Kalakshetra Foundation for study and performance of fine arts. Ministry of Culture also has seven Zonal Cultural Centres, namely (i) North Zone Cultural Centre with member States Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Punjab, Rajashtan, Union Territory of Chandigarh and Uttarakhand, (ii) West Zone Cultural Centre with member States Goa, Gujarat, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Union Territory of Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli (iii) South Zone Cultural Centre with member States Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Union Territories of Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep and Puducherry (iv) South Central Zone Cultural Centre with member States Andhra Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra and Telangana. (v) Eastern Zonal Cultural Centre with member States Assam, Bihar, Jharkhand, Manipur, Odisha, Sikkim, Tripura, West Bengal and Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands (vi) North Central Zone Cultural Centre with member States Bihar, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand and NCT of Delhi, and (vii) North East Zone Cultural Centre with member State Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim and Tripura.
- (b): Details of the funds made available and utilized by the institutes, during the last three years are given at Annexure.
- (c): Ministry of Culture has no plan to set up Institute of Excellence. However, from time to time, in collaboration with some organizations, workshops have been held for the management of Cultural Institutes. For the 12<sup>th</sup> Five Year Plan, there was a mention to have one Institute for the management of cultural institutes. To initiate the process, a Conclave was organized in IIM, Bengaluru. After deliberations, it emerged that instead of having a full-fledged institute for running courses of management on cultural institutes, the Ministry of Culture should run some short term courses for the personnel of cultural organizations. In the field of performing arts, the Kalakshetra Foundation has been declared, with an Act of Parliament, as an Institute of national importance.
- (d): Does not arise.

### **ANNEXURE**

# Annexure is referred to part (b) of the Lok Sabha Starred Question No. 13 for answer on 25.04.2016 regarding Setting Up of Institutes of Excellence

(Rs. in lakh)

S.NO.	NAME OF THE ORGANIZATION	FUNDS/GRANT-IN-AID RELEASED					FUNDS/GRANT-IN-AID UTILIZED						
		PLAN			NON-PLAN			PLAN			NON-PLAN		
		2013-14	2014-15	2015-16	2013-14	2014-15	2015-16	2013-14	2014-15	2015-16	2013-14	2014-15	2015-16
1.	ZONAL CULTURAL CENTRES												
(a)	Eastern Zonal Cultural Centre, Kolkata	539.11	457.02	813.50	N.A.**	N.A.	N.A.	347.84	656.18*	812.70	N.A.	N.A.	N.A.
(b)	North Zone Cultural Centre, Patiala	614.10	531.39	1412.15	N.A.	N.A.	N.A.	516.10	531.39	1412.15	N.A.	N.A.	N.A.
(c)	North Central Zone Cultural Centre, Allahabad	445.37	345.07	387.70	N.A.	N.A.	N.A.	386.10	405.95*	335.89	N.A.	N.A.	N.A.
(d)	North East Zone Cultural Centre, Dimapur	771.94	1346.45	856.27	N.A.	N.A.	N.A.	679.17	1346.45	607.05	N.A.	N.A.	N.A.
(e)	South Zone Cultural Centre, Thanjavur	832.00	609.10	560.56	N.A.	N.A.	N.A.	751.66	592.16	559.98	N.A.	N.A.	N.A.
(f)	South Central Zone Cultural Centre, Nagpur	544.19	319.61	765.00	N.A.	N.A.	N.A.	749.76*	483.77*	792.74* (provision al)	N.A.	N.A.	N.A.
(g)	West Zone Cultural Centre, Udaipur	429.66	1176.75	912.50	N.A.	N.A.	N.A.	505.50*	1159.63	892.50 (provision al)	N.A.	N.A.	N.A.
2.	Sangeet Natak Akademi	3758.69	4253.34	5791.39	1103.09	1160.00	1529.65	3127.39	4114.85	5289.97	1109.38*	1228.69*	1258.26
3.	Lalit Kala Akademi	1154.00	1125.00	1680.00	1010.00	1339.50	1424.90	1114.32	1081.13	1651.60	1114.59*	1319.61	1221.19
4.	National School of Drama	3752.50	4240.16	5150.00	1086.60	1202.49	1345.00	3752.50	4208.28	5121.02	1086.60	1202.49	1345.00
5.	Kalakshetra Foundation	539.46	868.84	650.00	559.15	611.50	660.00	356.86	848.57	549.33	559.15	611.50	660.00

<sup>\*</sup> Excess expenditure from the internal resources

<sup>\*\*</sup> ZCCs are not provided/granted Non-Plan fund from Ministry of Culture