GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.828

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 01ST MARCH, 2016/PHALGUNA 11, 1937 (SAKA)

DEVELOPMENT SCHEMES IN NAXAL AFFECTED AREAS

828. SHRI SHAILESH KUMAR:

SHRI HARI MANJHI:

SHRI SUNIL KUMAR SINGH:

SHRI ANURAG SINGH THAKUR:

SHRI ASHOK MAHADEORAO NETE:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the status of Left Wing Extremism and names of naxalite-affected districts in the country, State-wise;
- (b) whether any scheme/programme is being run by the Government to speed up development of basic infrastructure in naxal-affected districts and if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether Additional Central Assistance (ACA) or Integrated Action Plan (IAP) has been re-started, if so, the details thereof along with the funds released thereunder, State-wise;
- (d) whether some central schemes being run in the naxalite-affected districts have been discontinued, if so, the names of such schemes which have been discontinued along with the reasons for their discontinuance; and
- (e) the other measures taken by the Government to curb the naxal menace in the country including initiative for peace talks with naxalites?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI HARIBHAI PARATHIBHAI CHAUDHARY)

(a): The influence of Left Wing Extremism (LWE) has been reducing continuously from the last five years. Number of incidents and resultant deaths have been reduced to 1088 (226 deaths) in 2015 against 1760 (611 deaths) in 2011. In the current year (upto 15.02.2016) number of incidents and resultant deaths reported are 168 (39 deaths)

LS.US.Q.NO.828 FOR 01.03.2016

against 203 incidents and 36 deaths reported in the correspondence period of 2015.

At present 106 districts in 10 States have been identified by MHA as LWE affected districts. District-wise list of 106 districts is enclosed as Annexure-A.

(b): Government has been implementing various flagship developmental schemes/ programmes for providing basic infrastructure in LWE affected districts. These schemes are being implemented by different Ministries/Departments in coordination/consultation of the States concerned.

Some of the major schemes are as follows:

(i) Integrated Action Plan (IAP)/Additional Central Assistance (ACA) for LWE affected districts: The Planning Commission (now NITI Aayog) had been implementing this Scheme from 2010-11 to 2014-15 in 88 backward districts (76 LWE affected districts) for creating public infrastructure and services by funding Rs. 30 crore per district per year. This scheme has been discontinued by the Government from 2015-16 accepting the recommendations of the 14th Finance Commission.

- (ii) Road Requirement Plan-I (RRP-I): The Ministry of Road Transport and Highways (MoRTH) has been implementing (RRP-I) since February, 2009 for improving the road connectivity in 34 LWE affected districts of 8 LWE States namely, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh. Under this plan, total 5422 km roads would be constructed of which 3,904 kms roads have been completed up to 31.01.2016 with an expenditure of Rs. 5453 crore.
- (iii) Skill Development:- The Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship has been implementing two schemes, namely 'Skill Development in 34 Districts affected by Left Wing Extremism' and Pradhan Mantri Kaushal Vikas Yojana (PMKVY) in 29 LWE affected districts. Under Skill Development in 34 districts, 01 ITI and 02 Skill Development Centers (SDCs) would be constructed in each of 34 districts.
- (iv) Construction/Strengthening of fortified Police Stations: MHA has been implementing this scheme for construction/strengthening of 400 Police Stations in 10 LWE affected States @ Rs. 2 crore per police station on funding pattern of 80 (Central share): 20 (State share) basis. So far 284 PSs have been completed with an expenditure of Rs. 623.88 crore.

LS.US.Q.NO.828 FOR 01.03.2016

- (v) Construction of Mobile Towers: The Department of Telecom has been implementing this scheme for construction of 2199 mobile towers in 10 LWE affected States of which 1424 mobile towers have been put on air up to 15.02.2016.
- (c): The Scheme of ACA has been discontinued by the Government since 2015-16. However, the Government has approved allocation of Rs. 1000 crore in BE 2015-16, under Demand No. 37 as Special Central Assistance, for providing DPR based infrastructure and services in the most affected LWE districts.
- (d): Accepting recommendations Fourteenth Finance the of Commission, the share of States in the net proceeds of Union taxes has been enhanced from 32% to 42% by the Central Government. Consequently some schemes, being run in LWE affected States have been de-linked from central assistance and transferred to the States flexibility to conceive giving them sufficient and implement schemes/programmes suited to their local needs and aspirations, including requirements to bridge the developmental deficit gaps in backward regions within the States.

LS.US.Q.NO.828 FOR 01.03.2016

(e): 'Police' & 'Public Order' being State subjects, action with respect to maintenance of Law and Order lies primarily in the domain of the State Governments concerned. However, the Central Government closely monitors the situation and coordinate/supplements the efforts of State Governments over a wide range of issues, both as security and development fronts.

The Government has adopted four pronged strategy to fight against LWE menace. This includes Security related intervention, Development related intervention, Ensuring rights and entitlements of forest dwellers and better public perception management.

LS. US. Q. No. 828 for 01.03.2016

List of 106 districts covered under the SRE Scheme

Andhra Pradesh 1. Anantapur 2. East Godavari 3. Guntur 4. Kurnool 5. Prakasam 6. Srikakulam Chhattisgarh 39. Bastar 40. Bijapur 41. Dantewada 42. Jashpur 43. Kanker 44. Korea (Baikunthpur) 45. Narayannur Maharashtra 77. Chandrapur 78. Gadchiroli 79. Gondia 80. Aheri Orissa	
1. Anantapur 2. East Godavari 3. Guntur 4. Kurnool 5. Prakasam 40. Bijapur 41. Dantewada 42. Jashpur 43. Kanker 44. Korea (Baikunthpur)	
2. East Godavari 3. Guntur 4. Kurnool 5. Prakasam 40. Bijapur 41. Dantewada 42. Jashpur 43. Kanker 44. Korea (Baikunthpur) 78. Gadchiroli 79. Gondia 80. Aheri	
3. Guntur 4. Kurnool 5. Prakasam 41. Dantewada 42. Jashpur 43. Kanker 43. Kanker 44. Korea (Baikunthpur.)	
4. Kurnool 5. Prakasam 42. Jasnpur 43. Kanker 44. Korea (Baikunthour) 80. Aheri	
5. Prakasam 43. Kanker 44. Korea (Baikunthour.)	
1 44 Korea (Baikiinthniir)	
7. Visakhapatnam 45. Narayanpur 46. Painandasan	
9 Vizianagaram 46. Rajnanggaon 91 Gajanati	
47. Sarguja 82. Ganjam	
Telengana 48. Dhaillidi 93. Koopibar	ļ
10 Mahasamund 03. Reditjitat	
9. Adilabad 50. Gariyaband 84. Koraput	ļ
10. Karimnagar 51. Balod 85. Malkangiri	ļ
11. Khammam 52. Sukma 86. Mayurbhanj	ļ
12. Medak 87. Navrangpur 87. Navrangpur	
13. Mehboobnagar 54. Balrampur 88. Rayagada	ļ
14. Nalgonda 89. Sambhaipur	ļ
15. Warangal Jharkhand 90. Sundargarh	ļ
16. Nizamabad 91. Nayagarh 92. Kandhamal	ļ
56 Chatra 72.Kanunanai	ļ
Binar 93.Deogaili	
17 Arwal 50 Fact Charlebhanns 74.Jajpul	ļ
18 Aurangahad 50 Corbws 95.Dhenkanai	ļ
10 Rhoinur 40 Ciridib	ļ
20 Fact Champaran /1 Comple	ļ
21 Cava 42 Hazaribadh 70. Dailyaiti	ļ
22. Jamui 62. Flazar Bagri 99. Bolangir	
23. Jehanabad 64. Latehar	ļ
24 Kaimur 45 Labardaga	ļ
25. Munger 66. Palamu Uttar Pradesh	ļ
26 Nalanda (7 Danahi	
27 Nawada 40 Simdoga 100. Cildiluduli	ļ
28. Patna 69. Saraikela-Kharaswan 101. Mirzapur 102. Sonebhadra	
29. Rohtas 70. West Singhbhum	
20 Sitamarhi 71 Khunti	ļ
31. West Champaran 71. Rhuhti West Bengal 72. Ramgarh	
32 Muzaffarnur 72 Dumka	
33 Sheohar 103. Dalikula	ļ
24 Vaishali 75 Dakur	ļ
35. Banka	
36. Lakhisarai <u>Madhya Pradesh</u> 106. Birbhumi	
37. Begusarai 76. Balaghat	
38. Khagaria	