GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EARTH SCIENCES LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 3220 TO BE ANSWERED ON WEDNESDAY, MARCH 16, 2016

SEISMIC ZONING

3220. DR. J. JAYAVARDHAN:

SHRI BIDYUT BARAN MAHATO: SHRIMATI POONAM MAHAJAN: KUNWAR HARIBANSH SINGH: SHRI ASHOK SHANKARRAO CHAVAN: SHRI BHAIRON PRASAD MISHRA:

Will the Minister of EARTH SCIENCES be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) has classified the country into four major groups as per macro seismic zoning map of the country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof, city/townwise;
- (c) whether the Government has released a detailed report on 'seismic hazard microzonation' on major cities that fall in the different seismic zones across the country recently;
- (d) if so, the factors that are taken into account before finalizing the buildings/ localities which are vulnerable; and
- (e) the steps taken/being taken by the Government to minimize the risk of life as well as property during earthquakes?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR MINISTRY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY AND MINISTRY OF EARTH SCIENCES (SHRI Y. S. CHOWDARY)

- (a) Yes Madam.
- (b) Bureau of Indian Standard [IS 1983 (Part I):2002] has grouped the country into four seismic zones viz. Zone-II, Zone-III, Zone-IV and Zone-V. Of these, Zone V is seismically the most prone region with higher incidence of activities of earthquakes and Zone II is the least prone region with lower incidents of activities of earthquakes.

Broadly, Zone-V comprises of entire northeastern India, parts of Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttaranchal, Rann of Kutch in Gujarat, part of North Bihar and Andaman & Nicobar islands. Zone-IV covers remaining parts of Jammu & Kashmir and Himachal Pradesh, Union Territory of Delhi, Sikkim, northern parts of Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and West Bengal, parts of Gujarat and small portions of Maharashtra near the west coast and Rajasthan. Zone-III comprises of Kerala, Goa, Lakshadweep islands, remaining parts of Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat and West Bengal, parts of Punjab, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Chhatisgarh, Maharashtra, Orissa, parts of Telangana, parts of Andhra Pradesh, Tamilnadu and Karnataka. Zone-III covers remaining parts of the country. Important towns/urban areas in India, falling in seismic zones II, III, IV and V are in Annexure-I.

- (c) The government has released detailed report on Seismic hazard microzonation of National Capital Territory (NCT) Delhi and Kolkata only.
- (d) The factors which were considered at sites for generation of seismic hazard index are as under;
 - Peak ground acceleration at surface
 - amplification factor
 - Liquefaction potential
 - Engineering bedrock depth
 - Site classification based on shear wave velocity
 - Predominant frequency
 - Geology and geomorphology

Based on above study, urban areas are divided into four hazard zones, namely; such as Least, Moderate, High and Very High.

(e) Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) has published several guidelines and building codes for construction of earthquake resistant structures and for retrofitting of existing buildings. These guidelines are widely used by various administrative regulatory authorities responsible for ensuring the design and construction of earthquake resistant structures in various states.

National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA), Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA), Ministry of Earth Sciences and other state Disaster Management Authorities, have also taken up various initiatives to educate and enhance awareness amongst general public and school children on the general aspects of earthquakes, their impacts and measures to mitigate losses caused by them. A National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) is also functional under the general superintendence, direction and control of the NDMA for the purpose of specialized response to natural and man-made disasters.

Town	State/UT	Zone	Town	State/UT	Zone
Agra	Utter	111	Chitradurga	Karnataka	11
	Pradesh				
Ahmedabad	Gujarat	111	Coimbatore	Tamil nadu	111
Ajmer	Rajasthan	11	Cuddalore	Tamil Nadu	111
Allahabad	Utter	11	Cuttack	Orissa	111
	Pradesh				
Almora	Uttrakhand	IV	Darbhanga	Bihar	V
Ambala	Haryana	IV	Darjeeling	West Bengal	IV
Amritsar	Punjab	IV	Dharwad	Karnataka	111
Asansol	West Bengal	111	Dehradun	Uttrakhand	IV
Aurangabad	Maharastha	11	Dharmpuri	Tamil Nadu	111
Baharich	Utter	IV	Delhi	Delhi	IV
	Pradesh				
Bangalore	Karnataka	II	Durgapur	West Bengal	111
Barauni	Bihar	IV	Gangtok	Sikkim	IV
Bareilly	Utter	111	Guwahati	Assam	V
	Pradesh				
Belgaum	Karnataka	III	Goa	Goa	III
Bhatinda	Punjab	III	Gulbarga	Karnataka	II
Bhilai	Chattiagarh	Π	Gaya	Bihar	111
Bhopal	Madhya	II	Gorakhpur	Utter	IV
	Pradesh			Pradesh	
Bhubaneswar	Orissa	111	Hyderabad	Andhra	II
				Pradesh	
				/Telangana	
Bhuj	Gujarat	V	Imphal	Manipur	V
Bijapur	Karnataka	111	Jabalpur	Madhya	111
				Pradesh	
Bikaner	Rajasthan	III	Jaipur	Rajasthan	II
Bokaro	Jharkhand	III	Jamshedpur	Jharkhand	II
Bulandshahr	Utter	IV	Jhansi	Utter	II
	Pradesh			Pradesh	
Burdwan	West Bengal	III	Jodhpur	Rajasthan	II
Cailcut	Kerala	III	Jorhat	Assam	V
Chandigarh	Chandigarh	IV	Kakrapara	Gujarat	III
Chennai	Tamil Nadu	111	Kalapakkam	Tamil Nadu	III
Kanchipuram	Tamil Nadu	111	Pondicherry	Pondicherry	II

List of important towns falling in seismic zone II, III, IV and V $% \left({\left| {{{\bf{N}}} \right|_{{\bf{N}}}} \right)$

Kanpur	Utter Pradesh	111	Pune	Maharastha	111
Karwar	Karnataka	111	Raipur	Chattisgarh	11
Kohima	Nagaland	V	Rajkot	Gujarat	111
Kolkata	West Bengal	111	Ranchi	Chattisgarh	11
Kota	Rajasthan	11	Roorkee	Uttrakhand	IV
Kurnool	Andhra Pradesh	11	Rourkela	Orissa	11
Lucknow	Utter Pradesh	111	Sadiya	Assam	V
Ludhiyana	Punjab	IV	Salem	Tamil Nadu	111
Madurai	Tamil Nadu	11	Simla	Himanchal Pradesh	IV
Mandi	Himanchal Pradesh	V	Sironj	Madhya Pradesh	11
Mangalore	Karnataka	111	Solapur	Maharastha	111
Monghyr	Bihar	IV	Srinagar	Jammu & Kashmir	V
Moradabad	Utter Pradesh	IV	Surat	Gujarat	111
Mumbai	Maharastha	111	Tarapur	Maharastha	111
Mysore	Karnataka	II	Tezpur	Assam	V
Nagpur	Maharastha	II	Thane	Maharastha	111
Nagarjunasag ar	Telangana	11	Thanjavur	Tamil Nadu	11
Nainital	Uttrakhand	IV	Thiruvananthapuram	Kerala	111
Nasik	Maharastha		Tiruchirappali	Tamil Nadu	11
Nellore	Andhra Pradesh	III	Tiruvennamalai	Tamil Nadu	111
Osmanabad	Maharastha	111	Udaipur	Rajasthan	11
Panjim	Goa	111	Vadodara	Gujarat	111
Patiala	Punjab	111	Varanasi	Utter Pradesh	111
Patna	Bihar	IV	Vellore	Tamil Nadu	111
Pilibhit	Utter Pradesh	IV	Vijayawada	Andhra Pradesh	111
			Vishakhapatnam	Andhra Pradesh	11