# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3130 TO BE ANSWERED ON 16.03.2016

### **CONSTITUTION OF COMMITTEES**

# †3130. SHRI MUKESH RAJPUT:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Railways constitutes consultative committees at various divisional, zonal and national levels;
- (b) if so, the details thereof and the details of such committees constituted during the last three years;
- (c) whether the Zonal Railway Users' Consultative Committee (ZRUCC) has been constituted under the eastern railway and north-central railway in the year, 2014; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

#### **ANSWER**

## MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

(SHRI MANOJ SINHA)

(a) to (d): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

\*\*\*\*\*

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (d) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3130 BY SHRI MUKESH RAJPUT TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 16-03-2016 REGARDING CONSTITUTION OF COMMITTEES

- (a) to (d): With a view to securing better representation of railway users and for affording frequent opportunities for consultation between Railway Administrations and users for the purpose of improving the efficiency and quality of rail services, there is provision to constitute Railway Users' Consultative Committees at various levels as indicated below: -
  - (i) A National Railway Users' Consultative Council (NRUCC) at the Ministry level;
  - (ii) A Zonal Railway Users' Consultative Committee (ZRUCC) at the headquarters of each railway;
  - (iii) Railway Users' Consultative Committees at the Divisional levels i.e. Divisional Railway Users' Consultative Committees (DRUCCs);
  - (iv) Suburban Railway Users' Consultative Committees (SRUCCs)
    on Central, Western, Southern, Eastern and South Eastern
    Railways; and
  - (v) Station Consultative Committees at selected important stations.

Besides, there is also a provision for constituting two Users' Consultative Committees on the pattern of ZRUCC, which are as under:-

- i. Konkan Railway Users' Consultative Committee (KRUCC)
- ii. Metro Railway Users' Consultative Committee (MRUCC)

The details of Users' Consultative Committees constituted at all Zonal Railways (including Eastern and North Central Railways) and Konkan Railway during the last three years are as under:

S.	Name of the	Term for which constituted			
No.	Committee/Council				
(i)	Zonal Railway Users'	01.12.2011 to 30.11.2013,			
	Consultative	01.03.2013 to 28.02.2015 (term			
	Committee (ZRUCC)	curtailed and functioned up to			
		20.06.2014); and 01.10.2015 to 30.09.2017.			
(ii)	Konkan Railway Users'	01.12.2011 to 30.11.2013, 01.03.2013 to 28.02.2015 (term			
	Consultative				
	Committee (KRUCC)	curtailed and functioned up to 20.06.2014); and			
		01.10.2015 to 30.09.2017.			
(iii)	Divisional Railway	01.10.2011 to 30.09.2013,			
	Users' Consultative	01.03.2013 to 28.02.2015 (term			
	Committee (DRUCC)	curtailed and functioned up to			
		20.06.2014); and			
		01.08.2014 to 31.07.2016.			
(iv)	Metro Railway Users'	27.10.2010 to 26.10.2012,			
	Consultative	01.03.2013 to 28.02.2015 (term curtailed and functioned up to			
	Committee (MRUCC)				
		20.06.2014) ;and			
		01.10.2015 to 30.09.2017.			
(v)	Station Consultative	These are constituted at the			
	Committees (SCC)	important stations by the Railways			
		at local level.			
(vi)	Suburban Railway	These are constituted by Central,			
	Users' Consultative	Western, Southern, Eastern and			
	Committee (SRUCC)	South Eastern Railways after			
	-	expiry of their existing tenure.			

\*\*\*\*\*