LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2648 TO BE ANSWERED ON 14th March, 2016

EMISSION NORMS

2648. SHRI B.VINOD KUMAR:

पैट्रोलियम और प्राकृतिक गैस मंत्री

Will the Minister of PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government plans to skip one stage and move straight to Bharat Stage VI (BS-VI) emission norms from 2020;
- (b) whether the Government plans to provide availability of BS-VI fuel will be available across India at once, unlike a partial roll out of BS-IV fuel, which is only available in top 50 cities even after five years of India accepting that standard; and
- (c) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

पैट्रोलियम और प्राकृतिक गैस मंत्रालय में राज्य मंत्री (स्वतंत्र प्रभार) (श्री धर्मेन्द्र प्रधान)

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) IN THE MINISTRY OF PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS (SHRI DHARMENDRA PRADHAN)

(a) to (c): In an inter-ministerial meeting held on 06.01.2016 among Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas, Ministry of Road Transport & Highways, Ministry of Heavy Industries & Public Enterprises and Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate Change, it was inter alia decided that the country will leap frog directly from BS-IV to BS-VI fuel standards and BS-VI fuel standards will be implemented across the country w.e.f 01.04.2020. This Ministry conveyed its readiness on 22.5.2015 to all Oil Marketing Companies (OMCs) and other stakeholders for switching-over directly from BS-IV to BS-VI autofuels w.e.f. 1.4.2020.

It is further stated that BS-IV autofuels was initially introduced in 13 cities on 01.04.2010 which was further expanded to 50 more cities by 15.3.2015 in following phases:-

(i) Year 20 ⁻	12 – 13 cities
--------------------------	----------------

- (ii) Year 2013 7 cities
- (iii) Year 2014 6 cities
- (iv) Year 2015 24 cities

Presently, it has also been made available in whole of Northern India w.e.f. 1.4.2015 covering J&K (Except Leh/Kargil), Punjab, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Delhi and the bordering districts of and parts of Rajasthan (Bharatpur, Alwar, Hanumangarh and Sriganganagar) and Western Uttar Pradesh (Saharanpur, Muzaffarnagar, Baghpat, Meerut, Bijnor, Ghaziabad, Gautam Buddh Nagar, Bulandshar, Jyotiba Phule Nagar, Rampur, Moradabad, Aligarh, Badaun, Bareilly, Mathura, Mahamaya Nagar, Etah, Agra, Ferozabad, Etawah and Mainpuri).
