GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2619 TO BE ANSWERED ON 14.03.2016

Deemed Universities

2619. SHRI P. NAGARAJAN:

Will the Minister of **HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has allowed deemed-to-be University status to a number of institutions in the country including Government institutions;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether all these institutions have complied with all requisitions to become deemed-to-be University; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER MINISTER OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (SMT. SMRITI ZUBIN IRANI)

(a) & (b): Yes, Madam. Presently, there are 123 Deemed to be Universities in the country. State-wise/UT-wise break up of existing Deemed to be Universities are as under:

Andhra Pradesh-5, Arunachal Pradesh-1, Bihar-1, Chandigarh-1, Delhi-10, Gujarat-2, Haryana-6, Jharkhand-2, Jammu & Kashmir-1, Karnataka-14, Kerala-2, Madhya Pradesh-1, Maharashtra-21, Odhisa-2, Punjab-2, Pondicherry-1, Rajasthan-8, Tamil Nadu-28, Telengana-2, Uttar Pradesh-9, Uttarakhand-3 and West Bengal-1 = **Total 123.**

The details of these Deemed to be Universities are available at University Grants Commission's (UGC) website www.ugc.ac.in.

(c) & (d): The Central Government declares an Institution as Deemed to be University under Section 3 of the UGC Act, 1956, on the advice of UGC and after satisfying that the Institute fulfils all the eligibility criteria as mentioned in the UGC Act and the relevant Guidelines/Regulations framed from time to time with respect to Deemed to be University. Presently, Deemed to be Universities are regulated as per the UGC (Institutions Deemed to be Universities) Regulations, 2010 as amended from time to time which is available at UGC's website www.ugc.ac.in.
