GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY DEPARTMENT OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.24 TO BE ANSWERED ON 24/02/2016

INNOVATION HUBS

24. SHRI DUSHYANT CHAUTALA:

Will the Minister of SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY विज्ञान और प्रौद्योगिकी मंत्री pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government had targeted setting up of innovation hubs for promotion of scientific innovation and new projects under the Twelfth Plan Period;
- (b) if so, the details of achievements made so far in setting up of such hubs, State and yearwise; and
- (c) the steps being taken to achieve the targets?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EARTH SCIENCES (SHRI,Y. S. CHOWDARY)

विज्ञान और प्रौद्योगिकी मंत्रालय में राज्य मंत्री और पृथ्वी विज्ञान मंत्रालय में राज्य मंत्री (श्री वाई. एस. चौधरी)

- (a) & (b): Yes Madam. In 12th Five Year Plan, under the 'Scheme for Promoting Innovation, Creativity and Engagement in Science (SPICES)', the Government has targeted to set up a total of 60 Innovation Hubs (48 fully funded by the Government of India and 12 in collaboration with State Government/Institutions on a 50:50 cost sharing basis), at an estimated cost of Rs. 99.60 crores. Details of achievements, state-wise and year-wise, are given at Annex I.
- (c) Out of 60 Hubs, so far nine Hubs have been inaugurated and four Hubs are ready for inauguration. In respect of 47 Hubs at Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh; Rajahmundry, Andhra Pradesh; Srinagar, Jammu & Kashmir; Udaipur, Rajasthan; Vizag, Andhra Pradesh; Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan; Pune, Maharashtra; Raipur, Chhattisgarh; Puducherry (UT) and Dharwad, Karnataka, necessary commitments have been sought from respective State Governments/ Union Territory Administrations and Science Centre authorities.

Annex I

Location of Innovation Hubs

| Sl. | Location of | Status | State | Year |
|-----|-----------------------|------------------------|----------------|---------------|
| No. | Innovation Hub | | | |
| 1. | BITM, Kolkata | Inaugurated | West Bengal | August 2013 |
| 2. | VITM, Bangalore | Inaugurated | Karnataka | December 2013 |
| 3. | NSC, Mumbai | Inaugurated | Maharashtra | February 2014 |
| 4. | RSC, Guwahati | Inaugurated | Assam | February 2014 |
| 5. | DSC, Bardhaman | Inaugurated | West Bengal | July 2015 |
| 6. | RSC, Calicut | Inaugurated | Kerala | October 2015 |
| 7. | NSC, Delhi | Inaugurated | Delhi | January 2014 |
| 8. | RSC, Lucknow | Inaugurated | Uttar Pradesh | January 2016 |
| 9. | RSC Dehradun | Inaugurated | Uttarakhand | February 2016 |
| 10. | SSC Patna | Ready for inauguration | Bihar | |
| 11. | Agastya International | Ready for inauguration | Andhra Pradesh | |
| | Foundation, Kuppum | | | |
| 12. | Sikkim Science | Ready for inauguration | Sikkim | |
| | Centre, Gangtok | | | |
| 13. | KSSTM, Trivandrum | Ready for inauguration | Kerala | |

BITM – Birla Industrial & Technological Musem

VITM – Visvesvaraya Industrial & Technological Museum

NSC - Mumbai - Nehru Science Centre, Mumbai

RSC - Regional Science Centre

DSC - District Science Centre

NSC, Delhi – National Science Centre, Delhi

SSC – Srikrishna Science Centre

KSSTM – Kerala State Science & Technology Museum
