# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF MINORITY AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

### UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 23 TO BE ANSWERED ON 24-02-2016

#### **Reviewing Minority Status**

#### 23. SHRI ALOK SANJAR:

Will the Minister of **MINORITY AFFAIRS** be pleased to state:

- a) whether the Government has reviewed criterion for providing minority status in every State;
- b) if so, the details and the present status thereof; and
- c) the demands of every State in this regard?

#### **ANSWER**

## MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF MINORITY AFFAIRS (SHRI MUKHTAR ABBAS NAQVI)

(a)to(c): Revision of criteria to determine the minority status in each state is a State Subject as each State Government takes its own decision. So far as the Central Government is concerned, six communities have been declared as minority communities viz. Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists, Zoroastrians (Parsis) and Jains under Section 2(c) of the National Commission for Minorities (NCM) Act, 1992.

\*\*\*\*\*