GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2258 TO BE ANSWERED ON 10.03.2016

SOLAR CITIES

2258. SHRI RAMESH BIDHURI: SHRI RAJAN VICHARE: SHRI DUSHYANT CHAUTALA: SHRI NANA PATOLE:

Will the Minister of NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government proposes to set up new solar power plants and develop 60 cities across the country including Delhi as 'Solar Cities', if so, the details and location thereof, State/UT-wise;

(b) the budgetary allocation made/proposed to be made for the purpose, State/UT-wise including Delhi;

(c) whether the Government has granted permission to the Government of National Capital Territory of Delhi for using/utilizing solar energy for lighting its Secretariat, if so, the details thereof; and

(d) whether corporate social responsibility is being fulfilled by the public sector undertakings under the ministry, if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR POWER, COAL & NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) (SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

(a): Yes, Madam. The Government has set a target for installation of 1,00,000 MWp solar power plants in the country by the year 2022. So far, an aggregate capacity of 5775 MWp solar power plants has been installed in the country. The Ministry of New & Renewable Energy (MNRE) is implementing a programme on 'Development of Solar Cities' and 60 cities have been approved under this programme, including New Delhi (NDMC area). State/UT-wise details of solar cities are given in Annexure.

(b): The Budgetary allocation of Rs.1716 crore has been made for Grid Interactive Solar Power. No State/UT-wise funds are allocated by the MNRE.

(c): Government has sanctioned 3 MWp solar power plant for utilizing solar energy in the Secretariat building of National Capital Territory of Delhi.

(d): Indian Renewable Energy Development Agency (IREDA), a public sector undertakings under the MNRE is fulfilling the requirement under Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR). So far, 12 projects with as aggregate amount of Rs.3.24 crore has been sanctioned by IREDA under CSR.

Annexure referred to in reply to part (a) of the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 2258 to be answered on 10-3-2016.

List of Selected Solar Cities under "Development of Solar Cities Programme"

Sr. No	State	Approved Solar Cities
1	Andhra Pradesh	1. Vijayawada
		2. Narsapur Town
		3. Kakinada
2	Assam	4. Guwahati
		5. Jorhat
3	Arunachal Pradesh	6. Itanagar
4	Bihar	7. Gaya
5	Chandigarh	8. Chandigarh
6	Chhattiagarh	9. Bilaspur
6	Chhattisgarh	10. Raipur
		11. Rajkot
7	Gujarat	12. Gandhinagar
		13. Surat
8	Goa	14. Panaji City
0	Haryana	15. Gurgaon
9		16. Faridabad
10	Himachal Pradesh	17. Shimla
10		18. Hamirpur
11	Karnataka	19. Mysore
11		20. Hubli-Dharwad
10	Kerala	21. Thiruvananthapuram
12		22. Kochi
	Maharashtra	23. Nagpur
		24. Thane
		25. Kalyan-Dombivli
13		26. Aurangabad
		27. Nanded
		28. Shirdi
		29. Pune
	Madhya Pradesh	30. Indore
		31. Gwalior
14		32. Bhopal
		33. Rewa
		34. Jabalpur
15	Manipur	35. Imphal
16	Mizoram	36. Aizawl

Sr. No	State	Approved Solar Cities
17	Nagaland	37. Kohima
	Nagaland	38. Dimapur
18	Delhi	39. New Delhi (NDMC area)
19	Orissa	40. Bhubaneswar
	Punjab	41. Amritsar
20		42. Ludhiana
		43. SAS Nagar (Mohali)
21	Rajasthan	44. Ajmer
		45. Jaipur
		46. Jodhpur
22	Tamil Nadu	47. Coimbatore
23	Telangana	48. Mahbubnagar
24	Tripura	49. Agartala
	Uttarakhand	50. Dehradun
25		51. Haridwar & Rishikesh
		52. Chamoli –Gopeshwar
	Uttar Pradesh	53. Agra
26		54. Moradabad
		55. Allahabad
	West Bengal	56. Howrah
27		57. Madhyamgram
		58. New Town Kolkata
28	Jammu & Kashmir	59. Leh
29	Puducherry	60. Puducherry