GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COAL

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2165 TO BE ANSWERED ON 10.3.2016

'Acquisition of Land by WCL'

2165. SHRI KRUPAL BALAJI TUMANE:

Will the Minister of COAL be pleased to state:

- (a) the system adopted for acquisition of land by Western Coalfields Limited(WCL) along with the existing units of WCL in the country;
- (b) the area of land acquired by the WCL in the country, especially in Nagpur, Maharashtra along with the details of the Act under which WCL is acquiring land at present;
- (c) whether the Government has laid down any rules for land acquisition by WCL, if so, the details thereof along with the land acquired under these rules;
- (d) whether WCL has given back thousands of acres of land acquired by it few years ago; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof and the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) IN THE MINISTRY OF COAL, POWER AND NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY

(SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

- (a): Land is acquired by WCL under the following legislations:-
- a) Coal Bearing Areas(acquisition & Development) Act, 1957
- b) Land Acquisition Act, 1894/RFCTLARR Act, 2013.

In certain cases, land is purchased directly from the land owners. Besides, Forest Conservation Act, 1980 and the State Government's land acquisition and land revenue codes/rules are also relevant in course of land acquisition.

Presently, land acquisition is being done under Coal Bearing Areas(A&D) Act, 1957. Land compensation is provided to land owner, after executing agreements with land owners under section 14(1) of CBA (A&D) Act, 1957. Compensation for the land acquired is calculated as per Government of Maharashtra's General Resolution (GR) dated 22nd August, 2012 land rates as Rs. 6.00 lakh/acre for barren land, Rs. 8.00 lakh/acre for non-irrigated land and Rs. 10.00 lakh/acre for irrigated land. Physical possession of land is taken after providing land compensation and R&R benefits as per provision of R&R Policy of CIL-2012 to the land losers. The list of Working Mines as on 1.10.2015 is Annexed.

(b): WCL has two command areas namely Nagpur Area and Umrer Area in District Nagpur, Maharashtra. Land acquired under various Acts with land area is as under:-

(In Hectare)

SI.	Name c	of CBA Act	LA Act	Direct	Maharashtra Land	Total
No.	Areas			Purchase	Revenue (MSLR)	
					Code	
1.	Nagpur	2150.54	673.71	371.29	192.52	3388.06
2	Umrer	2882.37	1001.69	148.99	7.52	4040.57
3		5032.91	1675.40	520.28	200.04	7428.63

(c)to(e): No.

WESTERN COALFIELDS LIMITED NO OF WORKING MINES AS ON 01-10-2015

AREA		NAME OF			DISTRICT	STAT
	(Alphabetical order)			E		
	UG		OC	T		14.0
CHANDRAPU R	1	Chanda Rayatwari			Chandrapur	M.S.
	2	Colliery Durgapur			Chandrapur	M.S.
	3	Rayatwari Colliery			Chandrapur	M.S.
	4	Hindustan Lalpeth Colliery			Chandrapur	M.S.
	5	No. 1			Chandrapur	M.S.
	6	Hindustan			Chandrapur	M.S.
	7	Lalpeth Colliery	1	Bhatadi	Chandrapur	M.S.
	'	No. 3	2	Durgapur	Chandrapur	M.S.
		Mahakali	_	Sector V	Chandrapur	M.S.
		Manna Incline	3	Hindustan	Chandrapur	M.S.
		Nandgaon		Lalpeth	·	
		Incline	4	Padmapur	Chandrapur	M.S.
DALL ADDUD	0	Dallana				
BALLARPUR	8	Ballarpur			Chandrapur	M.S.
	9	Sasti	_		Chandrapur	M.S.
			5	New	Chadrapur	M.S.
			6	Dhoptala	Chandrapur	M.S.
			7	Ballarpur Gouri	Chandrapur	M.S.
			8	Expansion(A	Chandrapur	M.S.
			9)	Chandrapur	M.S.
			1	Gouri Deep	Chandrapur	M.S.
			Ö	Paoni	Grianarapar	101.0.
				Sasti		
MAJRI			1	New Majri UG to OC	Chandrapur	M.S.
				Dhorwasa	Chandrapur	M.S.
			1	JunaKunada	Chandrapur	M.S.
			2	NavinKunad	Chandrapur	M.S.
			1	а	Chandrapur	M.S.
			3	New Majri-		
			1	I&II(A)Ex	Chandrapur	M.S.
			4	Telwasa	Grianarapar	141.0.
			1	TCIWasa		
			5			
			ာ			
			1			
			6			
WANI			1	Ghughus	Chandrapur	M.S.
			7	Kolgaon	Yavatmal	M.S.
			1	Mungoli	Yavatmal	M.S.
			8	Naigaon	Yavatmal	M.S.
			1	Niljai	Yavatmal	M.S.
			9	Penganga	Chandrapur	M.S.
			2	. origaniga	- Chanarapan	141.5.
			0			
			2			

			1			
			1 2 2			
			2			
WANI NORTH	1 0 1 1	Bhandewara Incline Kumbarkhani	2 3 2 4 2 5 2 6 2 7	Ghonsa Junad Kolarpimpri Pimpalgaon Ukni Deep	Yavatmal Yavatmal Yavatmal Yavatmal Yavatmal Yavatmal Yavatmal Yavatmal	M.S. M.S. M.S. M.S. M.S. M.S.
NAGPUR	1 2 1 3 1 4 1 5 1 6 1 7 1 8 1 9 2 0	AB Incline Adasa Patansaongi Pipla Saoner-I Saoner-II Saoner-III Sielwara Waghoda	2 8 2 9 3 0 3 1	Gondegaon Inder UG to OC Kamptee UG to OC Bhanegaon	Nagpur	M.S. M.S. M.S. M.S. M.S. M.S. M.S. M.S.
URMER	2	Murpar	3 2 3 3 4 3 5	Makardhokra -I Makardhokra -II Gokul Umrer	Chandrapur Nagpur Nagpur Nagpur Nagpur	M.S. M.S. M.S. M.S.
PATHAKHER A	2 2 3 2 4 2 5 2 6 2 7	Chhatarpur-I Chhatarpur-I Shobhapur Sarni Tawa Tawa-II			Betul Betul Betul Betul Betul Betul	M.P. M.P. M.P. M.P. M.P. M.P.
PENCH	2 8	Ganpati Mahadevpuri			Chindwara Chindwara	M.P. M.P.

	2 9 3 0 3 1 3 2 3 3 4 3 5 3 6	Mathani Neheriya RawanwaraKha s Jamunia Thesgora Vishnupuri-I Vishnupuri-II	3 6 3 7 3 8 3 9 4 0 4 1	Barkui Bhajipani Chinda New Sethia Shivpuri Urdhan	Chindwara	M.P. M.P. M.P. M.P. M.P. M.P. M.P. M.P.
KANHAN	3 7 3 8 3 9 4 0 4	Ambara Ghorawari No-1 Mohan Nandan-II Tandsi	4 2	Ghorawari No-2/Bharat OC patch	Chindwara ChindwaraChindwaraChindwa ra Chindwara Chindwara	M.P. M.P. M.P. M.P. M.P.

STATE	NO OF UG MINES	NO OF OC MINES	TOTAL
MAHARASHTRA	21	35	56
MADHYA PRADESH	20	7	27
TOTAL	41	42	83

NB: In exercise of the power vested by Sec. 18(1) of Coal mines (Special Provisions) 2nd Ordinance, Government of India has been pleased to appoint the Chairman, Coal India Ltd. as the Custodian of 6 mines as communicated vide letter no CIL/CH/CUSTODIAN/27/1608 dated 31.03.2015. In pursuance of letter no, WCL/CMD/Secy/12-P/117 dated 31.03.2015, Pench Area &Wani North Area has taken over the charge of 2 mines and 1 mine respectively. The details are given below:-

SI No	Name of Mine	State	
1	Gotitoria (East)	Madhya Pradesh	
2	Gotitoria (West)	Madhya Pradesh	
3	MarkiMangli-II	Maharashtra	