# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (DEPARTMENT OF ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY)

#### LOK SABHA

#### UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 1949

TO BE ANSWERED ON: 09.03.2016

#### SOFTWARE TECHNOLOGY PARKS

#### 1949. SHRI JOSE K. MANI: SHRI RAMESWAR TELI:

Will the Minister of Communications & Information Technology be pleased to state: -

- (a) the objectives behind setting up of Software Technology Park of India (STP);
- (b) the details of Software Technology Park of India which have been registered and currently functioning State-wise;
- (c) whether there are plans to set up more such units in the rural and backward areas of the country; and
- (d) if so, the details of new STPs planned, State/UT-wise?

#### **ANSWER**

## MINISTER FOR COMMUNICATIONS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI RAVI SHANKAR PRASAD)

- (a): The objectives of the Software Technology Parks of India (STPI) are as under:
  - (i) To promote the development and export of software and software services including ITeS/Bio- IT.
  - (ii) To provide statutory and other promotional services to the exporters by implementing Software Technology Park (STP)/ Electronics Hardware Technology Park (EHTP) schemes and such other schemes which may be formulated and entrusted by the Government from time to time.
  - (iii) To provide data communication services including value added services to IT / ITeS related industries.
  - (iv) To promote micro, small and medium entrepreneurs by creating conducive environment for entrepreneurship in the field of IT/ITeS.
- (b) to (d): A total of 54 STPI centres are currently functioning across the country as per the list (State/UT wise) at Annexure-A. STPI is in the process of setting up 24 more STPI centres in smaller cities/towns. The State-wise list of these proposed STPI centres is at Annexure-B.

\*\*\*\*\*

#### ANNEXURE-A

**List of 54 existing STPI Centres** 

| SN | List of 54 existing STI States | Location           |
|----|--------------------------------|--------------------|
| 1  | States                         | Kakinada           |
| 2  | -                              | Tirupati           |
| 3  | Andhra Pradesh                 | Vijayawada         |
| 4  |                                | Vizag              |
| 5  | Assam                          | Guwahati           |
| 6  | Bihar                          | Patna              |
| 7  | Chhattisgarh                   | Bhilai             |
| 8  | Gujarat                        | Gandhinagar        |
| 09 | Himachal Pradesh               | Shimla             |
| 10 |                                | Srinagar           |
| 11 | Jammu & Kashmir                | Jammu              |
| 12 | Jharkhand                      | Ranchi             |
| 13 |                                | Bangaluru          |
| 14 | 1                              | Hubli              |
| 15 | -<br>Karnataka                 | Mangalore          |
| 16 | - Ixai nataka                  | Manipal            |
| 17 | -                              | Mysore             |
| 18 | Kerala                         | Thiruvananthapuram |
| 19 |                                | Indore             |
| 20 | Madhya Pradesh                 | Gwalior            |
| 21 |                                | Aurangabad         |
| 22 | -                              | Nagpur             |
| 23 | -                              | Nasik              |
| 24 | Maharashtra                    | Navi Mumbai        |
| 25 | -                              | Kolhapur           |
| 26 | 1                              | Pune               |
| 27 | Manipur                        | Imphal             |
| 28 | Meghalya                       | Shillong           |
| 20 | Mizoram                        | Aizwal             |
| 30 |                                | Bhubaneswar        |
| 31 | Orissa                         | Rourkela           |
| 32 |                                | Berhampur          |
| 33 | Pondicherry                    | Pondicherry        |
| 34 | Punjab                         | Mohali             |
| 35 | Rajasthan                      | Jaipur             |
| 36 |                                | Jodhpur            |
| 37 | Sikkim                         | Gangtok            |
| 38 |                                | Chennai            |
| 38 | Tamilnadu                      | Chennai            |

| 39 |                     | Coimbatore  |
|----|---------------------|-------------|
| 40 |                     | Madurai     |
| 41 |                     | Tirunelveli |
| 42 |                     | Trichy      |
| 43 | T-1                 | Hyderabad   |
| 44 | Telangana Telangana | Warangal    |
| 45 |                     | Kanpur      |
| 46 | Uttar Pradesh       | Lucknow     |
| 47 | - Uttar Pradesn     | Noida       |
| 48 |                     | Allahabad   |
| 49 | Uttarakhand         | Dehradun    |
| 50 |                     | Kolkata     |
| 51 |                     | Durgapur    |
| 52 | West Bengal         | Kharagpur   |
| 53 |                     | Siliguri    |
| 54 |                     | Haldia      |

### **ANNEXURE-B**

## List of approved STPI Centres to be set up State-wise

| Sl. No. | Location          | State             |
|---------|-------------------|-------------------|
| 1.      | Itanagar          | Arunachal Pradesh |
| 2       | Darbhanga         | Bihar             |
| 3       | Bhagalpur         |                   |
| 4       | Jamshedpur        |                   |
| 5       | Deoghar           | Jharkhand         |
| 6       | Dhanbad           |                   |
| 7       | Bokaro            |                   |
| 8       | Goa               | Goa               |
| 9       | Surat             | Gujrat            |
| 10      | Bhopal            |                   |
| 11      | Chinndwada        | Madhya Pradesh    |
| 12      | Jabalpur          |                   |
| 13      | Kohima-Dimapur    | Nagaland          |
| 14      | Balasore          | Odisha            |
| 15      | Angul             |                   |
| 16      | Jajpur            |                   |
| 17      | Koraput (jeypore) |                   |
| 18      | Sambalpur         |                   |
| 19      | Amritsar          | Punjab            |
| 20      | Agartala          | Tripura           |
| 21      | Agra              |                   |
| 22      | Gorakhpur         | Uttar Pradesh     |
| 23      | Meerut            |                   |
| 24      | Varanasi          |                   |

\* \* \* \* \* \* \*