# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (DEPARTMENT OF ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY)

### LOK SABHA

# **UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1874**

**TO BE ANSWERED ON: 09.03.2016** 

## **SWAN**

#### 1874 SHRI R. PARTHIPAN:

Will the Minister of Communications & Information Technology be pleased to state: -

- (a) whether the State Wide Area Network (SWAN) has been implemented across the country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether the SWAN are connecting State Headquarter (SHQ) to District Headquarter (DHQ) and Block Headquarters (BHQ);
- (d) if so, the details thereof;
- (e) whether all states has completed the project; if so, the details thereof; and
- (f) whether this networking of the institutions result in smooth and faster governance and if so, the details thereof?

#### **ANSWER**

# MINISTER FOR COMMUNICATIONS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI RAVI SHANKAR PRASAD)

- (a): Yes, Sir.
- (b): The SWAN has been implemented in the 32 States/UTs namely Andhra Pradesh (Including Telangana), Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chandigarh, Chhattisgarh, Dadra Nagar Haveli, Daman & Diu, Delhi, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Lakshadweep, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Orissa, Puducherry, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, UP, Uttarakhand and West Bengal.

The process for selection of Network Operator in the State of Jammu & Kashmir and Union Territory of Andaman & Nicobar island is in progress.

- (c): Yes, Sir.
- (d): 31\* SHOs, 610 DHOs and 6444 BHOs have been connected under SWAN project.
- \* Dadar & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu have common SHQ
- (e): As per the guidelines the SWAN is to be supported by Govt. of India (GOI) for five years of its operation after implementation. The 25 States/UTs have completed 5 years of operations of SWAN. The States are Andhra Pradesh (Including Telangana), Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chandigarh, Chhattisgarh, Delhi, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Lakshadweep, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Orissa, Puducherry, Punjab, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, UP, Uttarakhand and West Bengal.

The SWAN in 7 States/UTs are operational and have not completed 5 years of SWAN operation as per the scheme. These are Dadra Nagar Haveli, Daman & Diu, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland and Rajasthan.

(f): Yes, Sir. As per the guideline, initial bandwidth of SWAN was 2 Mbps. Subsequently, it has been upgraded to 34 Mbps per link from State Capital(SHQ) to District(DHQ) and 8 Mbps per link from District to each Block(BHQ). So far more than 50,000 offices are connected on SWANs and are using the Network for delivery of e-Governance services. At present, 30 States/UTs are utilizing more than 60% of existing link capacity.

\*\*\*\*\*