## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

### LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1765 TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 8<sup>TH</sup> MARCH, 2016/PHALGUNA 18, 1937 (SAKA)

### INCLUSION OF LANGUAGES

# 1765. SHRI CHARANJEET SINGH RORI: SHRI DUSHYANT CHAUTALA:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

(a) the criteria adopted for inclusion of languages in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution;

(b) the names of the languages which have been included in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution, State-wise;

(c) the details of the proposals/requests and representations received from the States and various Organizations for inclusion of more languages in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution along with the response of the Government thereto, State and language-wise including Haryanvi and Rajasthani; and

(d) the time by which such languages are likely to be included in the Eighth Schedule along with the reasons for pendency?

#### ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI KIREN RIJIJU)

(a): There is no established set of objective criteria for inclusion of

languages in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution.

(b): The following 22 languages are included in the Eighth Schedule

of the Constitution:-

LS.USQ.No. 1765 FOR 8.3.2016

(1) Assamese, (2) Bengali, (3) Bodo, (4) Dogri, (5) Gujarati, (6) Hindi,
(7) Kannada, (8) Kashmiri, (9) Konkani, (10) Maithili, (11) Malayalam,
(12) Manipuri, (13) Marathi, (14) Nepali, (15) Oriya, (16) Punjabi, (17)
Sanskrit, (18) Santhali (19) Sindhi, (20) Tamil, (21) Telugu and (22)
Urdu

(c & d): At present there are demands for inclusion of 38 more languages including Rajasthani in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution. These are:

(1) Angika, (2) Banjara, (3) Bazika, (4) Bhojpuri, (5) Bhoti, (6) Bhotia,
 (7) Bundelkhandi, (8) Chhattisgarhi, (9) Dhatki, (10) English, (11)
 Garhwali (Pahari), (12) Gondi, (13) Gujjar/Gujjari (14) Ho, (15)
 Kachachhi, (16)Kamtapuri, (17) Karbi, (18) Khasi, (19) Kodava
 (Coorg), (20) Kok Barak, (21) Kumaoni (Pahari), (22) Kurukh, (23)
 Kurmali, (24) Lepcha, (25) Limbu, (26) Mizo (Lushai), (27) Magahi, (28)
 Mundari, (29) Nagpuri, (30) Nicobarese, (31) Pahari (Himachali), (32)
 Pali, (33) Rajasthani, (34) Sambalpuri/Kosali, (35) Shaurseni (Prakrit),
 (36) Siraiki, (37) Tenyidi and (38) Tulu.

-2-

...3/-

No proposal has been received for inclusion of Haryanvi language in the Eighth Schedule. Since there is no established set of objective criteria for inclusion of languages in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution, no time-frame can be fixed for consideration of the demands for inclusion of more languages in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution.

\*\*\*\*