# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1637 TO BE ANSWERED ON 08.03.2016

## **Research on Forestry**

#### †1637. DR. RAMESH POKHRIYAL "NISHANK":

Will the Minister of ENVIRONMENT, FORESTS AND CLIMATE CHANGE be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of institutes/universities engaged in educational and research works on different aspects of forestry in the country;
- (b) whether the Government consult these institutes at the time of policy making;
- (c) the progress made in the setting up of Himalayan Study Centre;
- (d) whether the Government has implemented any scheme to provide employment through forests research institutes; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof institute-wise and scheme-wise?

#### **ANSWER**

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE (SHRI PRAKASH JAVADEKAR)

(a) List of Forest Research Institutes functioning under the control of Ministry of Environment, Forest & Climate Change in the country is given below:-

S.No.	Name of the Institute
(i)	Forest Research Institute (FRI), Dehradun
(ii)	Tropical Forest Research Institute (TFRI), Jabalpur
(iii)	Arid Forest Research Institute (AFRI), Jodhpur
(iv)	Institute of Wood Science & Technology (IWST), Bangalore
(v)	Institute of Forest Genetics & Tree Breeding (IFGTB), Coimbatore
(vi)	Rain Forest Research Institute (RFRI), Jorhat
(vii)	Himalayan Forest Research Institute (HFRI), Shimla
(viii)	Institute of Forest Productivity (IFP), Ranchi
(ix)	Institute of Forest Biodiversity (IFB), Hyderabad
(x)	Indian Institute of Forest Management (IIFM), Bhopal
(xi)	Indian Plywood Industries Research & Training Institute (IPIRTI),
	Bangalore

Further, the Indian Council of Forestry Research and Education (ICFRE), Dehradun, an autonomous body under the Ministry provides financial assistance to 27 Universities (Annexure-I) which run forestry courses in the country to give impetus to

forestry education. Out of these 27 Universities, 18 Universities have been accredited with ICFRE.

Besides these forestry research institutions under the overall supervision of the Ministry, State Governments of Kerala, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, etc. also have their own research institutes.

- (b) Yes, the Ministry holds consultations with these institutes at the time of policy making.
- (c) The Ministry of Environment, Forest & Climate Change has established G.B. Pant Institute of Himalayan Environment & Development (GBPIHED) as a dedicated Research & Development Institute for the Indian Himalayan Region in 1988. The Institute is identified as a focal agency, to advance scientific knowledge, to evolve integrated management strategies, demonstrate their efficacy for conservation of biodiversity and natural resources and to ensure environmentally sound development in the entire Himalayan region. Recently, the Ministry of Environment, Forest & Climate Change has launched the National Mission on Himalayan Studies (NMHS), which is being served by GBPIHED as its Project Management Unit.
- (d) & (e) No, at present there is no scheme to provide employment through forest research institutes.

\*\*\*\*\*

# List of 27 Universities who are being given Grant-in-Aid to for Infrastructural Development of Forestry in the Country.

- 1. Indira Gandhi Agricultural University, Chhattisgarh
- 2. Navsari Agricultural University, Navsari, Gujarat
- 3. Chaudhary Charan Singh Haryana Agricultural University, Hisar, Haryana
- 4. Chaudhary Sarwan Kumar Himachal Pradesh Krishi Vishvavidyalaya, Palampur, (H.P.)
- 5. Dr. Yashwant Singh Parmar University of Horticulture and Forestry, Solan, (H.P.)
- 6. Sher-E-Kashmir University of Agrl. Sciences and Technology of Kashmir, Srinagar, (J&K)
- 7. Birsa Agricultural University, Kanke, Jharkhand
- 8. University of Agricultural Sciences, Dharwad, Karnataka
- 9. University of Agricultural and Horticultural Sciences, Shimoga, Karnataka
- 10. Kerala Agricultural University, Vellanikkara, Thrissur, Kerala
- 11. Jawaharlal Nehru Agricultural University, Jabalpur
- 12. Dr. Balasaheb Sawant Konkan Krishi Vidyapeeth, Dapoli, Maharashtra
- 13. Dr. Panjabrao Deshmukh Krishi Vidyapeeth, Akola, Maharashtra
- 14. Central Agricultural University, Iroisemba
- 15. Orissa University of Agriculture and Technology, Bhubaneswar, Orissa
- 16. Punjab Agricultural University, Ludhiana, Punjab
- 17. Maharana Pratap University of Agriculture and Technology, Udaipur, Rajasthan
- 18. Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu
- 19. Chandra Shekhar Azad University of Agriculture and Technology, Kanpur
- 20. Sam Higginbottom Institute of Agriculture, Technology and Sciences, Allahabad, (UP)
- 21. FRI Deemed University, Dehradun, Uttarakhand
- 22. G. B. Pant University of Agriculture and Technology, Pantnagar, Uttarakhand
- 23. Kumaun University, Nainital, Uttarakhand
- 24. HNB Garhwal University, Srinagar, Uttarakhand
- 25. Uttar Banga Krishi Viswavidyalaya, Cooch Behar, West Bengal
- 26. North Eastern Regional Inst. of Science and Tech. (NERIST), Itanagar (Arunachal Pradesh)
- 27. Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya, Koni, Bilaspur, Chhattisgarh

## List of 18 Universities Accredited with ICFRE

- 1. Kerala Agricultural University, Vellanikkara, Thrissur, Kerala
- 2. University of Agricultural and Horticultural Sciences, Shimoga, Karnataka
- 3. Dr. Panjabrao Deshmukh Krishi Vidyapeeth, Akola, Maharashtra
- 4. Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu
- 5. Sam Higginbottom Institute of Agriculture, Technology and Sciences, Allahabad, U.P.
- 6. Birsa Agricultural University, Kanke, Jharkhand
- 7. Dr. Yashwant Singh Parmar University of Horticulture and Forestry, Solan, Himachal Pradesh
- 8. Kumaun University, Nainital, Uttarakhand
- 9. University of Agricultural Sciences, Dharwad, Karnataka
- 10. Chaudhary Charan Singh Haryana Agricultural University, Hisar, Haryana
- 11. Orissa University of Agriculture and Technology, Bhubaneswar, Orissa
- 12. Central Agricultural University, Iroisemba
- 13. Punjab Agricultural University, Ludhiana, Punjab
- 14. HNB Garhwal University, Srinagar, Uttarakhand
- 15. Dr. Balasaheb Sawant Konkan Krishi Vidyapeeth, Dapoli, Maharashtra
- 16. Navsari Agricultural University, Navsari, Gujarat
- 17. Sher-E-Kashmir University of Agrl. Sciences and Tech. of Kashmir, Srinagar, J&K
- 18. Maharana Pratap University of Agriculture and Technology, Udaipur, Rajasthan