GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1612 TO BE ANSWERED ON 08.03.2016

Science Train

1612. SHRI A.T. NANA PATIL:

Will the Minister of ENVIRONMENT, FORESTS AND CLIMATE CHANGE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether a Science Train has been flagged off by the Government in order to bring awareness regarding the effects of climate change and to make the science behind it easier to understand amongst the students of schools and colleges;
- (b) if so, the details thereof along with route chart and the subject decided for this purpose for the current year;
- (c) whether the Government is considering to include Jalgaon Railway Station situated in Maharashtra in the route chart prepared for the current year; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE (SHRI PRAKASH JAVADEKAR)

- (a) Yes, Sir.
- (b) The Science Express Climate Action Special was flagged off on 15th October 2015 in order to bring awareness amongst school children, college students and general public on climate change. The Science Express Climate Action Special has eight exhibition coaches devoted exclusively for information, case studies and material related to various aspects of climate change, the underlying science, impacts, adaptation activities, mitigation solutions and policy approaches.

The Science Express Climate Action Special is to travel to 64 locations in 20 states across India, covering over 19,500 kms. The schedule and route-chart for the current phase is given at **Annexure I**.

- (c) No, Sir.
- (d) Does not arise in view of answer at 'C' above.

Annexure I referred to part (b) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 1612 by Shri A.T. Nana Patil regarding 'Science Train'

Schedule and route-chart for the current phase of Science Train

Sr. No.	Station	Exhibition Dates
1.	Delhi Safdarjung	15 -17 Oct 2015
2.	Sawai Madhopur	18 Oct 2015
3.	Ranapratapnagar (Udaipur)	19 -23 Oct 2015
4.	Bhagat Ki Kothi (Jodhpur)	24 - 25 Oct 2015
5.	Jaisalmer	26 - 29 Oct 2015
6.	Suratgarh	30 Oct - 01 Nov 2015
7.	Patiala	02 - 04 Nov 2015
8.	Ambala Cantt.	05 - 08 Nov 2015
9.	Amb Andaura	09 - 10 Nov 2015
10.	Churarau Takarla	12 - 13 Nov 2015
11.	Hoshiarpur	14 - 16 Nov 2015
12.	Udhampur	17 - 20 Nov 2015
13.	Samba	21 - 23 Nov 2015
14.	Pathankot	24 - 27 Nov 2015
15.	Saharanpur	28 - 29 Nov 2015
16.	Haridwar	30 Nov - 02 Dec 2015
17.	Lalkuan	03 - 05 Dec 2015
18.	Pragati Maidan (Delhi)	06 - 08 Dec 2015
19.	Anajmandi (Rewari)	09 - 11 Dec 2015
20.	Agra	12 - 14 Dec 2015
21.	Shivpuri	15 - 17 Dec 2015
22.	Khajuraho	18 - 20 Dec 2015
23.	Allahabad	21 - 24 Dec 2015
24.	Basti	26 - 28 Dec 2015
25.	New Jalpaiguri	30 - 31 Dec 2015
26.	New Bongaigaon	01 - 02 Jan 2016
27.	Mariani	04 - 05 Jan 2016
28.	New Tinsukia	06 - 07 Jan 2016
29.	Lumding	08 - 09 Jan 2016
30.	Alipur Duar	11 - 12 Jan 2016
31.	Ambika Kalna	14 - 17 Jan 2016
32.	Barrackpore	18 - 21 Jan 2016

33.	Jhargram	22 - 24 Jan 2016
34.	Digha F S	25 & 27 Jan 2016
35.	Jharsuguda	29 - 30 Jan 2016
36.	Bilaspur	31 Jan - 02 Feb 2016
37.	Kumhari	03 - 06 Feb 2016
38.	Koraput	08 - 10 Feb 2016
39.	Visakhapatnam	11 - 13 Feb 2016
40.	Rajahmundry	14 - 16 Feb 2016
41.	Guntur	17 - 19 Feb 2016
42.	Zahirabad	20 - 23 Feb 2016
43.	Adoni	24 - 26 Feb 2016
44.	Kadiri	27 - 29 Feb 2016
45.	Vellore	01 - 03 Mar 2016
46.	Kumbakonam	04 - 06 Mar 2016
47.	Pudukkotai	07 - 09 Mar 2016
48.	Rameswaram	10 - 12 Mar 2016
49.	Tirunelveli	13 - 16 Mar 2016
50.	Changanassery	17 - 20 Mar 2016
51.	Palakkad	22 - 23 Mar 2016
52.	Mangalore Jn.	25 - 28 Mar 2016
53.	Ashokapuram	30 Mar - 02 Apr 2016
54.	Hospet	04 - 05 Apr 2016
55.	Wadi	06 - 08 Apr 2016
56.	Nizamabad	09 - 11 Apr 2016
57.	Buti Bori	13 - 15 Apr 2016
58.	Jalamb	16 - 18 Apr 2016
59.	Valsad	20 - 22 Apr 2016
60.	Anand	23 - 25 Apr 2016
61.	Patan	26 - 28 Apr 2016
62.	Нара	29 Apr - 01 May 2016
63.	Junagarh	02 - 04 May 2016
64.	Gandhinagar Capital	05 - 07 May 2016