## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1020 TO BE ANSWERED ON 02.03.2016

#### **MULTI-FUNCTIONAL COMPLEXES**

#### 1020. DR. BHOLA SINGH:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the policy decision taken with regard to the Multi-Functional Complexes (MFCs) at railway station and the errors occurred, if any, in policy making;
- (b) the number and names of railway stations identified to be developed or have been developed as MFCs:
- (c) the amount of funds allotted for MFCs and expenditure incurred in each of the last three years and the current year;
- (d) the number of functional and non-functional MFCs; and
- (e) the reasons of non-functionality of MFCs and the target fixed to make them functional?

#### **ANSWER**

#### MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

### (SHRI MANOJ SINHA)

(a) to (e): As a part of Railway's commitment to upgrade/augment passenger amenities at Railway Stations on continuous basis, development of Multi Functional Complexes (MFCs) at Railway Stations was first announced in Railway Budget 2009-10 to provide rail user facilities like Shopping, Food Stalls & Restaurants, Book Stalls, PCOs/STD/ ISD/FAX Booths, Medicine & Variety Stores, Budget Hotels (subject to viability), parking, etc.

Initially, development of MFCs was assigned to Railway Public Sector Undertakings (PSUs) who develop MFCs with their own equity and to Rail Land Development Authority (RLDA) who develop MFCs through private sector participation. Total expenditure incurred by PSUs on construction of MFCs since beginning is approximately ₹109 Cr. No expenditure is incurred by RLDA for developing MFCs.

Subsequently, some of the MFCs were assigned to Zonal Railways. Works for developing MFCs by Zonal Railways are sanctioned under Plan Head – 'Passenger Amenities'. Amenity-wise details of funds allocated/expenditure incurred is not maintained. Funds allocated/expenditure incurred under Plan Head – 'Passenger Amenities' during the last three years and the current year is as under:

(₹ in crores)

Year	Funds allocated (Revised Estimate)	Expenditure incurred
2012-13	967.55	842.14
2013-14	914.40	857.73
2014-15	1047.90	858.16
2015-16 (upto Jan. 2016)	1211.84	645.80

In all, 197 Stations are identified so far, for development of MFCs.

A list of these stations is appended.

Construction of MFC building has been completed at 56 stations. Presently, MFCs are functional at 19 stations. Process of development of MFCs involves construction of building and their leasing/licensing largely through private sector participation which is done after conducting feasibility studies, bidding process, etc. It is, therefore, not possible to

give any fixed time frame for development of MFCs and making them operational.

\*\*\*\*

APPENDIX REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (e) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1020 BY DR. BHOLA SINGH TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 02.03.2016 REGARDING MULTIFUNCTIONAL COMPLEXES.

(a) to (e): 197 stations have been identified for development of Multi Functional Complexes (MFCs) on Indian Railways. These are Abu Road, Adra, Agartala, Ajmer, Alipurduar Jn., Allahabad, Alleppey, Amethi, Amritsar, Anand, Anandpur Sahib, Anara(Adra), Arsikere, Asansol, Aurangabad, Ayodhya, Azamgarh, Balasore, Ballygunge, Bankura, Banspani, Bangarpet, Bardhman, Bareilly. Barrackpore, Bathinda Cantt., Behrampur, Bellary Jn., Belurghat, Belurmath, Bhagalpur, Bharatpur Jn., Bhavnagar, Bhilai, Bhubaneswar, Bhuj, Bikaner, Bilaspur, Birur, Bishnupur, Bolpur, Chandigarh, Chhindwara, Cuttack, Darjeeling, Davangere, Dehradun, Deoghar, Dhakuria, Dhanbad Jn., Dharmavaram (Near Puttaparthi), Diamond Harbour, Dibrugarh, Digha, Dimapur, Durg, Durgapur, Ernakulam Jn., Erode Jn., Gandhidham, Gaya, Ghatshila, Gondia, Gorakhpur, Gulbarga, Guntur, Hajipur, Haldia, Haridwar, Hazur Saheb Nanded, Hissar Jn., Hubli, Hyderabad, Indore, Islampur, Jabalpur, Jamalpur Jn., Jammu, Jammu Tawi, Jangipur, Jasidih, Jhansi, Jhargram, Jharsuguda Jn., Jhusi, Jodhpur, Junagarh Jn., Kacheguda, Kakdwip (Gangasagar), Kalvani. Kamakhya, Kancharapara, Kanyakumari, Kannur. Karimnagar, Kasargod, Kathgodam, Katihar Jn., Katra, Khajuraho, Kishangarh, Korba, Kottayam, Kozhikode, Krishnanagar City Jn., Kulti, Town, Kurukshetra, Lokmanya Tilak Terminus Mumbai, Kurnool Ludhiana,

Madarihat, Madurai, Majerhat, Malda Town, Manmad, Mavelikara, Midnapore, Miraj Jn., Murshidabad, Mysore, Nabadwipdham, Jn., Nagarcoil Jn., Naihati, Nasik Road, Neemuch, Nellore, New Alipore, New Farakka, New Mal, Nizamabad, Orai, Palakkad, Panipat, Patiala, Patna Sahib, Purulia, Rae Bareilly Jn., Raigarh, Raipur, Rajahmundry, Raja-ki-mandi, Rajgir, Rajkot, Rameshwaram, Ramnagar, Rampurhat, Ranchi, Ratlam, Raxaul Jn., Rayagada, Rewa, Rohtak, Sagardighi, Salem, Sambalpur, Sanchi, Sasaram, Sawai Madhopur Jn., Shegaon, Shimoga Town, Shirdi, Sikar Jn., Silchar, Siliguri, Siuri, Somnath, Sonepat, Srikakulam Road, Srinagar, Talcher, Tarakshewar, Tarapith, Tatanagar, Thakurnagar, Thiruvananthapuram, Tiruchchirappalli Fort, Tiruchchirappalli Jn., Tiruttani, Tiruvalla, Trichur, Tumkur, Udaipur, Udhampur, Ujjain, Vadodara, Varanasi, Vasai Road, Vellore, Vijayawada, Vishakapatnam, Vizianagaram Jn., Wardha, Yeshwantpur and Zahirabad (Medak).

\*\*\*\*