GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF SHIPPING

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 797 TO BE ANSWERED ON 3RD DECEMBER, 2015

NON-FUNCTIONAL PORTS

797. SHRI RAM MOHAN NAIDU KINJARAPU:

Will the Minister of SHIPPING be pleased to state:

पोत परिवहन मंत्री

- (a) the details and the number of non-functional ports in the country, State/UT wise including Andhra Pradesh;
- (b) whether the Government proposes to convert any of the non-functional or existing ports into ship-building yards, if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor; and
- (c) the total amount being spent on the upkeep of ports in the country, port and state/UT wise including Andhra Pradesh?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN MINISTRY OF SHIPPING (SHRI PON. RADHAKRISHNAN)

(a)&(b): According to the Indian Ports Act, 1908, the Major Ports are under the administrative control of Government of India and the Non Major Ports are under the overall jurisdiction of the respective State Governments. All the 12 major ports are functional and their performance and functioning is regularly monitored by the Ministry of Shipping. The ports are functioning on the basis of availability of cargo and industrialisation in their hinterland. The capacity and efficiency of ports is regularly upgraded and enhanced to meet the demands of the Trade. No proposal is under consideration in the Ministry of Shipping for converting any of the non-functional or existing ports into ship-building yards. The list of Major Ports and Non Major Ports (State Wise) is enclosed at **Annexure I & II**.

(c) As Non-Major Ports are under the jurisdiction of respective State Governments therefore, Ministry of Shipping is not spending any amount for up-keeping of these ports. In respect of Major Ports, Ministry of Shipping is not providing financial support for up-keeping of ports. However, the Union cabinet had approved extension of financial assistance to Kolkata Port Trust for reimbursement of expenses for Channel & River Dredging as per details

below.

Year	Government	of	India	Share	(Rs.in
	crores)				
2012-2013		3	96.27		
2013-2014		4	04.73		
2014-2015		3	60.18		
2015-2016	340.17				
Total	1501.35	•			

LIST OF MAJOR PORTS

1	Kolkata Port Trust		
2	Visakhapatnam Port Trust		
3	New Mangalore Port Trust		
4	Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust		
5	Kandla Port Trust		
6	Paradip Port Trust		
7	Chennai Port Trust		
8	Cochin Port Trust		
9	Mormugao Port Trust		
10	Mumbai Port Trust		
11	V.O. Chidambarabar Port Trust		
12	Kamarajar Port Limited		

Annexure -II

NO. OF NON-MAJOR PORTS IN THE COUNTRY-STATE-WISE & UNION TERRITORY- WISE

S.NO.	NAME OF PORT	S.NO	NAME OF PORT	
		GUJARAT- 42		
1.	Mandvi	22	Vansi-Borsi	
2.	Navlakhi	23	Billimora	
3.	Bedi	24	Valsad	
4.	Sikka	25	Umarsadi	
5.	Jafarabad	26	Kolak	
6.	Okha	27	Maroli	
7.	Porbandar	28	Umergaon	
8.	Veraval	29	Mul-Dwarka	
9.	Bhavnagar	30	Magdalla	
10.	Bharuch	31	Alang/Sachana	
11.	Hazira	32	Madhwad	
12.	Koteshwar	33	Navabandar	
13.	Mundra / GAPL	34	Rajpara	
14.	Jakhau	35	Pipavav / GPPL	
15.	Jodia	36	Mahuva	
16.	Salaya	37	Talaja	
17.	Pindhara	38	Ghogha	
18.	Beyt	39	Khambhat	
19.	Rupen	40	Dahej	
20.	Mangrol	41	Bhagwa	
21.	Kotda	42	Onjal	
	MA	AHARASHTRA - 4	48	
1	Dahanu	25	Redi	
2	Tarapur	26	Kiranpani	

3	Nawapur	27	Ratnagiri
4	Satpati	28	Kumbharu
5	Kelwa-Mahim	29	Shriwardhan
6	Arnala (incl Datiware)	30	Bankot
7	Uttan	31	Kelshi
8	Bassein	32	Harnai
9	Nhiwandi	33	Dabhol
10	Manori	34	Palshet
11	Kalyan	35	Borya
12	Thane	36	Jaigad
13	Versova	37	Tiwri-Waroda
14	Bandra	38	Purnagad
15	Trombay	39	Jaitapur
16	Ulwa-Belapur /(Panvel)	40	Vijaydurg
17	Mora	41	Devgad
18	Mandwa	42	Achara
19	Karanja	43	Malvan
20	Thal (Rewas)	44	Niwti
21	Alibag (Dharamtar	45	Nandgaon
22	Revdanda	46	Murud-Junijira
23	Borli/Mandla	47	Rajpuri (Dighi
24	Manded	48	Vengurla

	TAMI	L NADU - 1	15	
1	Cuddalore	9	Punnakkayal	
2	Nagapattinam	10	Thirukkadaiyur	
3	Rameswaram	11	PY-3 (Oil field)	
4	Pamban	12	Kattupalli	
5	Colachel	13	Thiruchopuram	
6	Valinokkam	14	Manappad	
7	Kanyakumari	15	Kudankulam	
8	Ennore			
	ANADAMAN & I	NICOBAR I	ISLANDS- 23	
1	Port Blair	13	Nancowry	
2	Mus	14	Chowra	
3	Car Nicobar	15	Teressa	
4	Havelock	16	Kondul	
5	Mayabundar	17	Pillow Millow	
6	Diglipur	18	East Island	
7	Rangat	19	Cinque Island	
8	Hut bay	20	Jolly Bouy Island	
9	Katchal	21	Tillongchong	
10	Campbell Bay	22	Castle Bay	
11	Neil Havelock	23	South bay	
12	Dugong Creek			
	ANDHRA	A PRADESI	H -12	
1	Bhavanapadu	7	Vodarevu	
2	Calingapatnam	8	Nizampatnam	
3	Bheemunipatnam	9	Krishnapatnam	
4	(i) Kakinada	10	Gangavaram	
	(ii)Kakinada Deepwater Port			
5	Narsapur	11	Mutyalampalem	
6	Machilipatnam	12	Rawa	
		NATAKA - 1		
1	Mangalore	6	Honavar	
2	Malpe	7	Tadri	
3	Hangarkatta	8	Belekeri	

	1			
4	Kundapur	9	Karwar	
5	Bhatkal	10	Pudubidri	
		AMAN & DIU -	·	
1	Daman	2	Diu	
		KSHADWEEP -		
1	Agatti	6	Kavaratti	
2	Amini	7	Kadmat	
3	Androt	8	Kiltan	
4	Bitra	9	Kalpeni	
5	Chetlat	10	Minicoy	
		GOA - 5		
1	Panaji	4	Talpona	
2	Chapora	5	Tiracol	
3	Betul			
	PO	NDICHERRY -	- 2	
1	Pondicherry	2	Karaikal	
	\mathbf{W}	EST BENGAL -	1	
1	Kulpi			
		KERALA - 17		
1	Alppuzha	10	Kozhikode/Beypore	
2	Vadakara	11	Neendakara	
3	Canannore	12	Azhikkal	
4	Kasargod	13	Koavalam/Vizhinjam	
5	Kodungalloor	14	Tellycherry	
6	Ponnani	15	Kayamkulam	
8	Thiruvananthapuram	16	Manakkodam	
9	Quilon	17	Neeleswaram	
		ORISSA - 13		
1	Gopalpur	9	Dhamra	
2	Bahabalpur	10	Chudamani	
3	Bahadammuham	11	Inchuri	
4	Palur	12	Chandipur	
5	Baliharichandi	13	Subatnarekha Mouth (Kirtania)	
6	Astaranga		·	
8	Jatadhar Muhan			
