GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.575 TO BE ANSWERED ON 02.12.2015

SLOW AND INEFFECTIVE WI-FI CONNECTIONS OF RAILWAYS

†575. SHRI SUKHBIR SINGH JAUNAPURIA: SHRI K.R.P. PRABAKARAN:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government has received complaints with regard to slow and ineffective Wi-Fi connections of the Railways;

(b) if so, the details thereof;

(c) whether the Government is making any plan to get to know the arrival and distance of train through Wi-Fi;

(d) if so, the details thereof;

(e) the railway stations of Rajasthan where Government proposes to install Wi-Fi connections; and

(f) the names of the railway stations Tonk-Sawai Madhopur included therein?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

(SHRI MANOJ SINHA)

(a): No, Madam.

(b): Does not arise.

(c) & (d): Wi-Fi services at stations enable internet access through which train running status can be obtained.

(e): Railway proposes to provide Wi-Fi facility in all A1, A & B category stations. A list of A1, A & B category stations in the state of Rajasthan is appended.

(f): Yes, Madam. Sawai Madhopur Railway Station is a class A station and the same is to be provided with Wi-Fi facility.

* * * * *

APPENDIX REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (e) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 575 BY SHRI SUKHBIR SINGH JAUNAPURIA AND SHRI K.R.P. PRABAKARAN TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 02.12.2015 REGARDING SLOW AND INEFFECTIVE WI-FI CONNECTIONS OF RAILWAYS.

(e): 'A1', 'A' & 'B' Category Stations in the State of Rajasthan

S.No.	Name of Station	Category	S.No.	Name of Station	Category
J .NU.		Category	5.10.	Name of Station	Category
1	Jaipur	'A1'	27	Dholpur	'A'
2	Jodhpur	'A1'	28	Balotra	'B'
3	Ajmer	'A1'	29	Beawar	'B'
4	Aburoad	'A'	30	Dausa	'B'
5	Alwar	'A'	31	Jawaibandh	'B'
6	Bandikui	'A'	32	Kishangarh	'B'
7	Barmer	'A'	33	Makrana	'B'
8	Bhilwara	'A'	34	Mavli Jn.	'B'
9	Bikaner	'A'	35	Merta Road	'B'
10	Falna	'A'	36	Nokha	'B'
11	Gandhinagar-Jp	'A'	37	Rai Ka Bagh Palace Jn	'B'
12	Hanumangarh Jn.	'A'	38	Sikar	'B'
13	Lalgarh	'A'	39	Bhawani Mandi	'B'
14	Marwar Jn.	'A'	40	Bundi	'B'
15	Nagaur	'A'	41	Gangapur City	'B'
16	Pali Marwar	'A'	42	Hindaun City	'B'
17	Phulera	'A'	43	Ramganj Mandi	'B'
18	Rani	'A'			
19	Sri Ganganagar	'A'			
20	Suratgarh	'A'			
21	Udaipur City	'A'			
22	Jaisalmer	'A'			
23	Bharatpur	'A'			
24	Kota	'A'			
25	Sawai Madhopur	'A'			
26	Chittorgarh Jn.	'A'			1
