GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, COOPERATION AND FARMERS WELFARE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.439 TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 1ST DECEMBER, 2015

KISAN CALL CENTRES

439. SHRI PRATAPRAO JADHAV: SHRI CHANDRAKANT KHAIRE:

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE कृषि एवं किसान कल्याण मंत्री be pleased to state:

(a) the details of the Kisan Call Centres approved alongwith the number of Kisan Call Centres functioning at present in Maharashtra;

(b) whether these centres are sufficient to provide the requisite agricultural information to the farmers;

(c) whether these centres are providing sufficient information to the farmers and if so, the details thereof along with the steps taken by the Government to strengthen these call centres; and

(d) whether the Government proposes to set up more Kisan Call Centres, if so, the details thereof, location-wise?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE

(a) to (c): The Department of Agriculture, Cooperation and Farmers Welfare (DAC&FW) Government of India has set up Kisan Call Centres (KCCs) at 14 locations in the country covering all the States and Union Territories in the country to provide reply to queries of farmers in the area of agriculture and allied sector. The details of Kisan Call Centres (KCCs) at different locations in the country are given at Annexure-I. One KCC for Maharashtra is in operation and is located at Pune.

These Call Centres are providing sufficient information to the farmers as per their requirement. These Kisan Call Centres are strengthened with modern technology to respond efficiently to farmers' queries in the shortest possible time. There is a provision of escalating the call to experts in case the Farm Tele Advisors (FTAs), responding to farmers queries in the KCCs, need more information for providing sufficient information to farmers. FTAs are trained from time to time through experts.

(d): No, Madam.

<u>Annexure- I</u>

SI No	Location	States/ UTs Covered
1	Hyderabad	Andhra Pradesh
		Telangana
2	Patna	Bihar
		Jharkhand
3	Jaipur	Delhi
		Rajasthan
4	Ahmadabad	Gujarat
		Dadra & Nagar Haveli
		Daman & Diu
5	Chandigarh	Haryana
		Punjab
		Chandigarh
		Himachal Pradesh
6	Jammu	Jammu & Kashmir
7	Bangalore	Karnataka
		Kerala
		Lakshadweep
8	Jabalpur	Madhya Pradesh
		Chhattisgarh
9	Pune	Maharashtra
		Goa
10	Coimbatore	Tamil Nadu
		Puducherry
		Andaman & Nicobar
11	Kanpur	Uttar Pradesh
		Uttarakhand
12	Kolkata	West Bengal,
		Sikkim
13	Guwahati	Arunachal Pradesh
		Assam
		Manipur
		Meghalaya
		Mizoram
		Nagaland
		Tripura
14	Bhubaneswar	Odisha
P		