GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3792 TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 22ND DECEMBER, 2015/PAUSHA 1, 1937 (SAKA)

E-VISA ON ARRIVAL

3792. SHRI KODIKUNNIL SURESH: SHRI KALIKESH N. SINGH DEO: SHRI PRALHAD JOSHI:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

(a) the details of visa on arrival facility provided to citizens of various countries by the Government along with the names of countries to which the said facility has been extended;

(b) whether an increase has been registered in the arrival of the tourists in the country in the wake of visa on arrival facility;

(c) if so, the increase registered therein and the names of States in which the increase is more;

(d) the names of the countries which have reciprocated this facility for Indian citizens; and

(e) the details of safeguards taken in the interest of national security while issuing e-visa?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI KIREN RIJIJU)

(a) : The Government of India has launched e-Tourist Visa (old name-Tourist Visa on arrival enabled by electronic travel authorization) facility on 27.11.2014 with a view to facilitate foreign tourists visiting India. Initially, the scheme was introduced in 43 countries. Till now, the scheme has been extended to 113 countries. The names of these countries are attached as <u>Annexure-I</u>.

(b) & (c): Since launch of the scheme approximate 4,90,974 e-Visas have been issued under this scheme. At present in e-Tourist Visa scheme entry of Tourists is facilitated through 16 Indian Airports. Airport wise entry of Tourists on e-Tourist Visa is given in <u>Annexure-II.</u>

LS.US.Q.NO.3792 FOR 22.12.2015

(d): As per the information available names of countries/territories who have either extended the facility of visa-on-arrival or require no visa or have extended e-visa facility to Indian passport holders as under :-

"Bahrain, Bhutan, Bolivia, British Vergin Islands, Combodia, Cape Verde, Comoros, Cook Islands, Code d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Dominica, Ecuador, E1 Salvador, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Georgia, Grenada, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Laos, Macau, Madagascar, Malaysia(Visa on arrival on certain conditions), Maldives, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia, Moldova, Monsterrat, Myanmar, Nepal, Niue, Palau, Reunion Island, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent & The Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Somalia, Sri Lanka (Electronic Travel Authorization), Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Trinidad & Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia and Zimbabwe"

(e): The concerned Security Agencies are taking due care while issuing e-visa. There is provision of online registration and profiling of Tourists. At arrival Port, biometrics of the Tourists are also being captured.

* * * * *

List of 113 countries added in e-Tourist Visa Scheme

· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		1
01. Andorra	45. Israel	89. Saint Vincent & the
02 Anguilla	46. Jamaica	Grenadines
03. Antigua & Barbuda	47. Japan	90. Samoa
04. Argentina	48. Jordan	91. Seychelles
05. Armenia	49. Kenya	92. Singapore
06. Aruba	50. Kiribati	93. Slovenia
07. Australia	51. Laos	94. Solomon Islands
08. Bahamas	52. Latvia	95. Spain
09. Barbados	53. Liechtenstein	96. Sri Lanka
10. Belgium	54. Lithuania	97. Suriname
11. Belize	55. Luxembourg	98. Sweden
12. Bolivia	56. Malta	99. Taiwan
13. Brazil	57. Malaysia	100. Tanzania
14. Cambodia	58. Marshall Islands	101. Thailand
15. Canada	59. Mauritius,	102. Tonga
16. Cayman Island	60. Mexico	103. Turks & Caicos Island
17. Chile	61. Micronesia	104. Tuvalu
18. China	62. Monaco	105. UAE
19. China- SAR Hongkong	63. Mongolia	106. Ukraine
20. China- SAR Macau	64. Montenegro	107. United Kingdom
21. Colombia	65. Montserrat	108. USA
22. Cook Islands	66. Mozambique	109. Uruguay
23. Costa Rica	67. Myanmar	110. Vanuatu
24. Cuba	68. Nauru	111. Vatican City-Holy see
25. Djibouti	69. Netherlands	112. Venezuela
26. Dominica	70. New Zealand	113. Vietnam
27. Dominican Republic	71. Nicaragua	
28. East Timor	72. Niue Island	
29. Ecuador	73. Norway	
30. El Salvador	74. Oman	
31. Estonia	75. Palau	
32. Fiji	76. Palestine	
33. Finland	77. Panama	
34. France	78. Papua New Guinea	
35. Georgia	79. Paraguay	
36. Germany	80. Peru	
37. Grenada	81. Philippines	
38. Guatemala	82. Poland	
39. Guyana	83. Portugal	
40. Haiti	84. Republic of Korea	
41. Honduras	85. Republic of Macedonia	
42. Hungary	86. Russia	
43. Indonesia	87. Saint Christopher and	
44. Ireland	Nevis	
	88. Saint Lucia	

Page 1 of 1 Annexure-II LS.US.Q.NO.3792 FOR 22.12.2015

Airport wise E-Tourist Visa Report

27.11.2014 to 15.12.2015

S/N	Name of Airports	Numbers of foreign tourists
1	Ahmedabad	4169
2	Amritsar	2681
3	Bangalore	33806
4	Chennai	31807
5	Cochin	19387
6	Delhi	210680
7	Gaya	363
8	Goa	51668
9	Hyderabad	14917
10	Jaipur	994
11	Kolkata	12652
12	Lucknow	205
13	Mumbai	97954
14	Tirchy	879
15	Trivandrum	8587
16	Varanasi	225
Total		490974
