GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 3472 TO BE ANSWERED ON 21.12.2015

Central Universities in Backward areas

†3472. SHRI DHARAMBIR:

SHRI SUNIL KUMAR MONDAL:

Will the Minister of HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has any plan to open central universities/universities in the country especially in the backward areas to improve the level of education;
- (b) if so, the details thereof including the number of universities opened State/ location-wise;
- (c) if not, the reasons therefor;
- (d) whether the Government proposes to open a central university in Mevaat, the most backward district of Haryana; and
- (e) if so, the time by which it is likely to be opened and if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER MINISTER OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (SMT. SMRITI ZUBIN IRANI)

- (a) to (c) At present there is no proposal to set up new Central Universities in the country. However, the Andhra Pradesh Re-organisation Act 2014 envisages establishment of one Central Tribal University each in State of Andhra Pradesh and in the State of Telangana and one Central University in the successor state of Andhra Pradesh. Further, the Prime Minister has announced a package for Bihar on 18.8.2015 which includes establishment of a Central University near Bhagalpur at the historic site of Vikramshila University. A list of state wise central universities is enclosed.
- (d) & (e) There is no such proposal under consideration. One Central University has been established in Haryana by the Government in the year 2009. Besides, one off-campus has been established in Mewat under the ambit of Maulana Azad National Urdu University to cater to the population of backward areas of Mewat.

University Grants Commission

List of Central Universities as on 11.09.2015

S.No Name of Central Universities

ARUNACHAL PRADESH

1. Rajiv Gandhi University, Rono Hills, Doimukh, Itanagar - 791111.

ASSAM

- 2. Assam University, PO Assam University, Silchar -788 011.
- 3. Tezpur University, Dt. Sonitpur, PB No. 72, Tezpur.- 784 028.

BIHAR

- 4. Central University of South Bihar, BIT Campus Patna, PO BV College, Patna 800014.
- 5. Mahatma Gandhi Central University, BIT Campus Patna, PO BV College, Patna 800014.
- 6. Nalanda University, Rajgir, Dt. Nalanda, Bihar. (established under Central Act)

CHHATTISGARH

7. Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya, Main Campus, Koni, Bilaspur – 495009 (Converted State University to Central University).

GUJARAT

8. Central University of Gujarat, Sector-30, Gandhinagar – 382030, Gujarat.

HARAYANA

9. Central University of Haryana, Jant-Pali Village, Mahendragarh – 123029, Haryana.

HIMACHAL PRADESH

10. Central University of Himachal Pradesh, PB No. 21, Dharamshala, Dist. Kangra – 176215, Himachal Pradesh.

JAMMU & KASHMIR

11. Central of University of Kashmir, Sonwar, Near GB Pant Hospital, Srinagar - 190 005.

2

12. Central University of Jammu, 8/8, Trikuta Nagar, Jammu – 180012.

JHARKHAND

13. Central University of Jharkhand, Ratu Lohardaga Road, Brambe, Ranchi - 835205, Jharkhand.

KARNATKA

14. Central University of Karnataka, Kadaganchi, Aland Road, Aland Taluk, Gulbarga – 585311, Karnataka.

KERALA

15. Central University of Kerala, BKM Towers, Nayanmar Moola, Vidyanagar PO, Kasargod - 671123, Kerala.

MADHYA PRADESH

- 16. Dr Harisingh Gour Vishwavidyalaya, Sagar-470 003 (Converted from State University to Central University).
- 17. The Indira Gandhi National Tribal University, Makal Sadan, Amarkantak, Madhya Pradesh.

MAHARASHTRA

18. Mahatma Gandhi Antarrashtriya Hindi Vishwavidyalay, Post Box No. 16, Panchtila, Umri Village, Arvi Road, Wardha – 442 001.

MANIPUR

- 19. Central Agricultural University, Imphal-795 004.
- 20. Manipur University, Canchipur, Imphal-795 003.

MEGHALAYA

21. North Eastern Hill University, NEHU Campus, Shilong-793 022.

MIZORAM

22. Mizoram University, Post Box No. 910, Aizawal-796 012.

NAGALAND

23. Nagaland University, Kohima, Nagaland-797 001.

ODISHA

24. Central University of Orissa, Central Silk Board Building, Landiguda, Koraput-764020, Odisha.

3

PUNJAB

25. Central University of Punjab, Mansa Road, Bathinda - 151001.

RAJASTHAN

26. Central University of Rajasthan, NH-8, Bandar Sindri, Distt – Ajmer - 305801.

SIKKIM

27. Sikkim University, 6th Mile, Samdur, PO Tadong – 737130, Gangtok.

TAMILNADU

- 28. Central University of Tamil Nadu, Thanjavur Road, Thiruvarur 610001, Tamil Nadu.
- 29. Indian Maritime University, Chennai 600 119.

TELANGANA

- 30. Hyderabad University, Hyderabad-500 046.
- 31. Maulana Azad National Urdu University, Gachibowli, Hyderabad-500032.
- 32. The English and Foreign Languages University, Osmania University Campus, Hyderabad-500 007.

TRIPURA

33. Tripura University, Suryamanianagar, Agartala-799 130.

UTTAR PRADESH

- 34. Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh-202 002.
- 35. University of Allahabad, Allahabad-211 002.
- 36. Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University, Vidya Vihar, Raebareilly Road, Lucknow-226 025.
- 37. Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi-221 005.
- 38. Rajiv Gandhi National Aviation University, Fursatganj, Dt. Raebareli, Uttar Pradesh.

UTTRAKHAND

39. Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University, Srinagar-246 174.(Converted from State University to Central University).

WEST BENGAL

40. Vishwa Bharati, Shantiniketan-731 235.

NCT OF DELHI

- 41. Delhi University, Delhi-110 007
- 42. Indira Gandhi National Open University, New Delhi-110 068.

4

- 43. Jamia Mallia Islamia, Jamia Nagar, New Delhi-110 025.
- 44. Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Mehrauli Road, New Delhi-110 067.
- 45. South Asian University, CRS Language Lab Building, Old School of Physical Sciences JNU Campus, New Delhi 110 067. **(established under Central**

Act)

PONDICHERRY

46. Pondicherry University, R. Venkataraman Nagar, Kalapet, Pondicherry-605 014.

Note: - Six universities namely (i) Central Agricultural University, Imphal

Manipur (ii) Indira Gandhi National Open University, New Delhi,

and (iii) Indian Maritime University, Chennai (iv) Nalanda

University, Rajgir, Dt. Nalanda, Bihar (v) Rajiv Gandhi National

Aviation University, Fursatganj, Dt. Raebareili, Uttar Pradesh and

(vi) South Asian University, New Delhi are not funded by UGC as these are directly funded by Government of India. Telangana state was created on 02.06.2014