GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2891 TO BE ANSWERED ON 16.12.2015

SAVE ENERGY INITIATIVES

2891. SHRI ABHISHEK SINGH:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of initiatives taken by Railways to save energy in various railway stations across the country and converting them into green entities;
- (b) whether Railway has any plan to use solar energy for lighting Railway stations and its premises;
- (c) if so, the details thereof and steps taken by railways in this regard; and
- (d) the number of Railway stations having rain water harvesting system in the country, State-wise?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI MANOJ SINHA)

(a) to (d): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (d) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 2891 BY SHRI ABHISHEK SINGH TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 16.12.2015 REGARDING SAVE ENERGY INITIATIVES

- (a) Policy guidelines have already been issued on energy conservation measures on Indian Railways (IR) to save energy at various railway stations across the country. The initiatives taken by IR include use of LED light fittings, segregation of lighting circuits at railway station platforms, provision of LED based station name boards, automation of pumps, use of 3 star labelled electrical products, replacement of High Pressure Mercury Vapour (HPMV) lamps with energy efficient lamps etc.
- (b) & (c) Yes, Madam. IR has installed about 1.5 Mega Watt Peak (MWp) solar based plants on railway stations across the country including 1 MWp at Katra Railway Station for meeting station power requirement including lighting. In addition, a Purchase Order for installing about 3 MWp solar power plants on roof top spaces of about 200 railway stations has been issued.
- (d) Presently at 523 Railway Stations rain water harvesting system has been installed. The State wise position is as under:

	No. of Stations Having Rain Water
Name of States	Harvesting System
Andhra Pradesh	43
Assam	4
Chhattisgarh	28
National Capital Territory of	
Delhi	9
Gujarat	1
Haryana	13
Himachal Pradesh	3
Jammu & Kashmir	3
Jharkhand	17
Karnataka	33

Madhya Pradesh	21
Maharashtra	43
Odisha	8
Punjab	42
Rajasthan	16
Tamil Nadu	66
Telangana	44
Uttar Pradesh	111
Uttarakhand	4
West Bengal	14
Total	523
