GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY DEPARTMENT OF TELECOMMUNICATIONS LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2889 TO BE ANSWERED ON 16th DECEMBER, 2015 TELECOM DISTRICTS

2889. ADV. CHINTAMAN NAVASHA WANAGA:

Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY be pleased to state:

(a) total number of telephone districts of Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited (BSNL) and Mahanagar Telephone Nigam Limited (MTNL), State-wise;

(b) whether the Government has received proposals for creation of new BSNL/MTNL telephone district in newly declared districts;

- (c) if so, the details thereof, State and district-wise;
- (d) the action taken/proposed to be taken by the Government in this regard; and
- (e) the time by which the new telephone districts are likely to be created?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF COMMUNICATIONS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI RAVI SHANKAR PRASAD)

(a) Circle-wise details of total number of telephone districts of Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited (BSNL) and Mahanagar Telephone Nigam Limited (MTNL) are given in **Annexure**.

(b) & (c) BSNL has received following proposals for creation of Telephone Districts during the last 5 years (2011 - 2015):

State	District	
Bihar	Arwal, Jahanabad & Sitamarhi	
Gujarat	Porbandar & Patan	
Chhattisgarh	Jashpur	
Tamil Nadu	Tiruppur	
Rajasthan	Karauli	
Maharashtra	Palghar	

(d) & (e) The above proposals were examined by BSNL and the creation of such districts was not found feasible in view of competitive environment and cost effectiveness.

Contd.....2/-

<u>Annexure</u>

Details of Telecom Districts of BSNL and MTNL

Sr No	State	No of Telecom Districts	Remarks	
BSNL				
1	Andaman & Nicobar	1		
	Andhra Pradesh &			
2	Telangana	22		
3	Assam	7		
4	Bihar	19		
5	Chhattisgarh	6		
6	Gujarat	18		
7	Haryana	9		
8	Himachal Pradesh	6		
9	Jammu & Kashmir	5		
10	Jharkhand	6		
11	Karnataka	19		
12	Kerala	12	includes Lakshadweep	
13	Madhya Pradesh	35		
14	Maharashtra	30	includes Goa	
15	North East-I	3	includes Meghalaya,Mizoram,Tripura	
16	North East-II	3	includes Arunachal Pradesh,Manipur,Nagaland	
17	Odisha	13		
18	Punjab	11	includes Chandigarh	
19	Rajasthan	24		
21	Tamil Nadu	19	includes Puducherry	
22	Uttar Pradesh	49		
23	Uttarakhand	6		
24	West Bengal	15	includes Sikkim	
	Total BSNL	338		
MTNL				
1.	Delhi	01		
2.	Mumbai	01		
	Total MTNL	02		
